Poets logo

Insta-Like

Humanity is Poetry in Motion

By CyCyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Insta-Like

Note from me: This poetry/song has darker undertones.

It is a commentary on how we all live in the online world. Although there are perks to the internet, it is easy to lose oneself due to the constant information overload we experience.

Take breaks when you can. Please do not base your worth on what you see online.

Pose for me.

Dance for me.

Lick your lips.

Show a little more skin.

Whisper to me

And we'll call it ASMR.

Give me the latest gossip.

The hottest tea there is!

I am a slave to the algorithm.

The instant gratification

From a stranger's attention.

Monetizing my content

In many ways as it should.

Podcast.

Art.

Merchandise.

My body and mental health are on full display for everyone to see.

Judge me.

Only if it sounds good.

Filter my words.

Filter all my personalities!

Different masks for every platform.

Keywords, SEO, Technology,

As long as I am trending.

We call it Digital Marketing.

Hone your expertise.

This is the brand new future!

Find which variation of songs

That fits my aesthetic.

I am unique unlike you.

So, you should be more like me.

Gratification from the stranger's attention.

Hit that like button.

Follow for more.

Check out my courses

And find success as I did.

Body dysmorphia.

Lost identity.

Choking on societal pressures.

But not on camera.

Picture perfect my life is.

As long as the Algorithm Gods favour me.

Negativity and false positivity,

We all thrive in.

Misery likes company.

You are not allowed to be happier than me!

I am better than the rest.

Hit that like button for more.

The Millenial curse.

Passed on to the younger generations.

We eat it up like a forbidden delicacy

But not before we post it online.

Reality is blurred.

Forgotten, or set aside.

Doesn't matter.

Just give me that Insta-like.

Count my followers against yours.

I am trending unlike you.

In the Digital World, we are all lost.

But it's better than accepting

That we are truly alone.

***Fin***

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

This is the eighth poem from Humanity is Poetry in Motion. The collection reflects politics, social commentary, and what it is like to be human.

Thank you for being a part of my journey and life. I truly appreciate you all.

Shout out to one of my faves, Phoebus Apollo 🖤☀️

Thanks for singing these poems, guiding me with composing music, and showing me different types of art.

A true bestie here. xo

Come check out my other surreal poem(s) as well:

  • I Heard You Calling My Name
I Heard You Calling My Name
The Problem With Immortality
Mighty She Is

---

More stuff from me:

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Arcane yet?

Have you seen Arcane yet?

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

League of Legends Vi vs Jinx 11 oz. Mug

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Learn more about Bluehost

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why is Bluehost Perfect for Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would genuinely appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

Fiverr Profile

performance poetrysocial commentaryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.