Poets logo

The Problem with Immortality

Dream Journal Series - Soul Exchange

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3
Cover is designed by me - Canva Pro

I’ll tell you a story about an entity

who became a Deity.

His history had always been

a great mystery.

So, here I am, a knowledge seeker, ecstatic to give

the most sought lessons which are sometimes called mythology.

The entity was once like you,

young and naïve.

He explored the galaxies and the multiverse

to absorb energy.

And when Death had discovered Him

the entity flew with rage.

I’m not done, He said. It’s just not fair!

I demand immortality!

But Death was lonely and smarter than He.

So, She granted Him His wish.

He would live forever as He wished

and become One with the galaxies.

But the entity grew tired and weary

of his aimless trajectory.

The time stretched out beyond belief

and his sanity began to slip.

Everything now looked the same

without any reprieve.

So, He begged Death for Her mercy

but Death never took back gifts.

She granted Him another wish

so He could feel free.

Reborn every time with no memories

of the lives He lived for all eternity.

He was now Life, a Deity, the opposite of She.

Death and Life, together as One, in harmony.

I hope I’ve given you the wisdom you seek

about how everything and nothing came to be

I’m a knowledge seeker,

the devourer of truths,

who watches all possibilities.

If questions you have about the multiverse

then I am your guide.

A watcher above, and so as below.

Nothing my eyes couldn’t see.

So, join me for all eternity

and come learn with me.

You see, loneliness is the hardest part

of immortality.

Hi, thank you for checking out: The Problem with Immortality. I truly appreciate it!

This short/poem kept repeating in my nightmare last night. So, just like with everything else, I got up at 3 am and manically wrote it down until my brain decided it was time to go back to sleep.

I usually create darker content whether it is art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

You can connect with me on Instagram, Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and read my Lux et Obscurum issues at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/lux-et-obscurum-grimoire/.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, leaving me a tip, or giving your pledge (which is $2.99/month). If you also want to get updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter right here.

-CyCy xoxo

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.