Poets logo

Hitting Snooze on the New Year

For the Abecedarian Challenge

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
49
Hitting Snooze on the New Year
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Another year begun, says my calendar

But the rhythm of seasons disagrees: the old winter is not done. Be soft with yourself.

+

Consider what Winter is for; Conserve your energy. Comfort, rest, warmth

Demand your prioritisation. Don't fight the chilly tide. Dip to the

Ebb. "Enough" is the name I give Now, the name I give You, the name I give Me

+

For now:

Germinate under the soil of fluffy blankets. Give yourself time. Grow unseen.

Hibernate gently my love.

+

Imbolc is surely soon enough; if naptime calls, your affirmative is

Justified. Just

Kick the Resolutions can down the icy road

Let Spring be the time for the New You. January is a langurous limbo to luxuriate in, a lumbering run-up.

+

Maybe you broke your resolutions already

Never mind, the snowdrops are a second chance for us all. Nature says now is not the time to advance.

+

Ooze your ideas and

Prepare. Percolate your plans in

Quietude

Reflect, rejuvenate

Slumber, still. Sip steaming soup. Steep your schemes like

Tea, brew them as meticulously. Take your lesson from other creatures

+

Under the soil of blankets, spider out your roots, little seed.

Vow to drink more water; do more squats; eat more greens...

When the daffodil trumpets the turning of the season; when days stretch and earth warms; when green comes back. Wave goodbye to the old year slowly with a fond

X x x x pressed to blue chilly lips of the temporary death

Yet another 5 minutes; your resolutions can wait until the snowdrops nod their tiny YES; until then

Zzzzzz

++++++++++++

Quick Authors Note:

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed it, I assume you already know how likes and subscriptions work, and how to find my profile. Would you consider sharing this, or reading another? Christmas is over, motivation may be slack, Please pop another ha'penny in the writer's hat.

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: I wrote this for the Abecedarian Challenge (linked at the bottom).

I am not fully taking my own advice with this one - still on the New Year's Resolution train with my personal goal to publish a short story every day this year. But other things I've reined back until Spring, and given myself permission to just get through January.

This poem is a reminder from me to you: If the gloom lies heavy on you, it's OK to stay cosy, move a little slower, and put hot soup where other people tell you radical change ought to be. After all, you and me baby ain't nothing but mammals.

inspirationalnature poetryMental Health
49

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Absolutely love the message in this! Winter is a time for nourishment, for hunkering down with a good book, and for quiet rest. We should all take the time to enjoy it while it’s here😊 “Germinate under the soil of fluffy blankets.”- favourite line.

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    Perfect! This should be pinned to every fridge 🤗

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Thought provoking, gentle, reaffirming, everything a new years poem aught to be. And best of all it made me laugh at the end!

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    "Zzzzzz" - o, this made me smile; the laziest yet witty word choice I've seen for this challenge (alongside with 'X x x x"). Nice mantra!

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Lovely and so melodic. Congrats on the TS

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    LC this is a breath taking take on the challenge and I am all here for it!! Great work!!

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    This has just the right amount of soft kick to it. Ingeniously done. Thoroughly enjoyed B/C/E/F/G and "Slumber still. Sip steaming soup. Steep your schemes like...Tea, brew them as meticulously. Take lessons from other creatures." That...is guidance boy! Yes twice!

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    An alliterative masterpiece! A pleasure to read!

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    Love this, and can totally relate! I've still been in recuperation and deep winter mode after a crazy November and December. So I am all for starting my "new year" on the first day of Spring when the earth starts to wake up :) Congrats on top story!

  • Yokopi4 months ago

    So Amazing! contrasts

  • rose amy4 months ago

    Really great. Read more here: https://latestnewsheadlinestoday.wordpress.com/

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Yeah, Congrats on Top Story!

  • If I can hibernate, I'll do that every single day, 24/7. That's a freaking coma you dimwit, I hear you say. Oh well. Lol. Loved your Abecedarian! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Beautifully put together!

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    Genius. You knocked this poem out of the park.

  • This works for me winter, spring, summer & fall, lol.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Oh this is fab. This is one of those poems I’d like someone to read out loud to me so I can close my eyes and really listen to the words. Just beautiful.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I’ll echo Oneg, this felt effortless. And wonderful advice too! I often forget that it’s okay to rest when it’s cold and the sun is mostly missing. This was a very sweet, gentle, and tasty reminder to do so. Beautiful poem!

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    Ughhhh be soft with yourself 🥹🥹🥹 yes. It feels like you wrote this so damn effortlessly

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the TS.

  • If you had shoehorned a Vocal mention into there, you could have submitted this one for the #200 Challenge as well. Just imagine the power move of winning back-to-back challenges with the same piece... Sublime.

  • Great job! This has been a fun challenge. I’ve done two entries so far.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    End with the Bloodhound gang….nice. Well done I like your take on this challenge

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    This poem made me want to tuck into my blankets and hibernate, letting my imagination germinate and brainstorm the book ideas I've been wanting to work on. ... I might actually go do that. After another cup of hot coffee.☕️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.