Poets logo

Hey Dad, I was Wondering

An Answer I Will Never Know

By J. Delaney-HowePublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
9
Hey Dad, I was Wondering
Photo by Jeremy Yap on Unsplash

Hey Dad

I was wondering…

When was the first time you realized

I wasn’t the son you wanted?

Was it when I was born,

While you were a child still yourself?

Did you resent having a child so young?

Maybe it was when I was little,

And closer to mom than you.

Her life was us kids.

Was it because Mom didn’t have enough time in the day

To tend to your every rule and want?

Was it because you wanted freedom?

From responsibility.

From providing for our needs.

From being bogged down with a family

That you created.

Maybe it was because of the time

My nine year old self was mad after a beating

And wrote “I hate dad” on a paper bag

And left it on top of the trash so you’d see it.

Could it have been that time you took me to work with you

And I needed to hold your hand

In the big city with so many people

Walking by. You swatted my hand away

And your hand was all I needed

To feel safe.

Maybe it was when you realized

I wasn’t naturally athletic.

I tried soccer one year, to make you happy

And you embarrassed me at the games

Yelling from the sidelines

Then reminding me on the way home how much I sucked at sports.

It could have been that my grades weren’t perfect.

Or maybe because I was so sick when I was a kid.

Maybe it was because I wasn’t as drawn to fishing and hunting

Like you were

Like my younger brother was.

I enjoyed those things.

You ruined those times for me

With your criticism because

I wasn’t as good as you were

Or I didn’t do it your way.

We weren’t close when I was a teen,

When I needed a father most.

I know you were disappointed

And didn’t approve of me marrying

And having a child

When I was still a child myself,

Just like you did.

Was it because my jobs

Always involved working with people

And not working with my hands like you?

The truth is you criticized

You berated.

You stopped talking to me,

When I did or said something you didn’t approve of.

I learned to live

Without your approval

Without your advice and guidance.

Sometimes without you.

And then you died

And I would never know

When was the first time

You realized

I wasn’t the son you wanted.

Thank you for reading my poem! I appreciate every read, heart, comment and tip. If you would like to read more of my work, click below.

sad poetryFamily
9

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    This is heartbreaking, the angst of living in the shadow of a parent's disapproval tends to haunt us for the rest of our lives. For me it was mother, always trying to live up to her expectations or simply avoid her critical glare.

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Heartfelt. I kind of understand this feeling. I'm sorry for your loss and I hope you have healed from this sadness.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Oh my. That is heartwrenching. I'm sorry.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    A father is a very powerful thing to be. I am very sorry that you were treated like that. He never found the power within himself. It wasn't you! From what I've read, I think you strive to be the best dad anyone could have, though. That makes you a powerful man than outshines the DNA that brought you forth. You have broken the generational curse. Be proud of that! Hugs

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    I felt every bit of this. I'm glad you decided to share. Some fathers just don't know the negative impact they have on their kids. I know this too well. Thank you for sharing.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    OMG, this is so sad. I'm glad you wrote it; it must have been cathartic for you. Mental abuse and berating is very hard to grow up with. You are better than he acted, because you recognize the wrong, and are able to express it so perfectly here, congrats.

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    This is hard to read, I hope it wasn’t too hard to write. 💕

  • Donna Reneeabout a month ago

    Sending ❤️❤️ I’m sorry… you didn’t deserve any of that!

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a month ago

    🖤🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.