Poets logo

Birthday

a poem about loss

By Zakari RungePublished 10 days ago 1 min read
3
what would have been your wish?

Flames engulfed the candles.

The cake was decorated with beach and sandals.

Your two favorite things…

This and when the church bells would ring.

Today you would have turned twenty-three.

This was something you always could not wait to see.

The service this morning was not the same.

Especially when they say your name.

In remembrance.

Tears began to fall like rain.

Even after all these months, the pain...

Is excruciating.

Happy Birthday

Friendshipsad poetryFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Zakari Runge

Hi, my name is Zakari! Writing has impacted my life in so many beautiful ways. It allows me to express myself, open up to the world, and nothing makes me happier than seeing my writing impact others! I just want to help you smile today.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Apoorva Upadhyay8 days ago

    So poignantly and beautifully heart- piercing <3

  • I'm so sorry 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.