Poets logo

Hello from Away

To say I care

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
13
Photo taken by me in Korea

Did the morning post arrive yet?

Did you receive my thoughts?

I know that they, like me, are far from your everyday,

But still I hope they made it safe.

How long, I wonder, does it take,

For a slip of paper to travel the whole world round.

You know as well as I,

What obstacles between us lie.

Can it make it do you think,

My little scrap of memory,

Across the mountains and the seas,

From my pen to your hand,

The little thoughts for you from I?

You are far away, and I am further still,

From the places where once we met,

Where between us formed a bond.

So, to you this scrap I send,

A gift from me to firmly say,

That you’re in my mind while far from home.

It’s just my little way to show,

My favourite way to say,

Hello from away.

-0- -0- -0-

I love travel, it’s one of my greatest pleasures in life, and last summer I took a trip. This trip brought me far from home, to visit one of my dearest friends. We met in school, and she moved away, so I made up my mind and went to visit.

First I stopped in Iceland, if I were going on an adventure I meant to go whole hog. While there, I had a thought, that I enjoyed writing and receiving letters. I wanted to send post cards, but could not think of who to.

Then I remembered my grandparents, and how much it would mean to them to receive one. So I bought them and promptly forgot to mail them.

When I made it to Sweden to visit my friend, I bought more postcards and mailed them along with the ones from Iceland. It’s the thought that counts more than the exact location, right?

And they were delighted with them. So, when I went to Korea this past May, I knew that I would do it again. I knew that I would find and send the cards, but this time I would add more people.

Other friends and family, including my parents and sibling. The ones in the cover photo were a devil to find, it took me almost 5 days to track them down. Sadly I don’t think there’s a strong market for postcards anymore, with the acceleration trend towards digital formats.

But everyone loved the cards. And when I go to South America in the Fall, I’ll do it all again! And I’ll have to add even more recipients to my list because other friends have asked to be included. :)

My recommendation is this, if you travel somewhere cool, think about sending a postcard. Just to say to someone you care about, “hello from away.”

art
13

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    I remember this sweet poem… I used to treasure postcards received & collected on trips. Lovely.

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is a gorgeous poem!

  • This is delightful… it reminded me of times past doing just this! Your grandparents would have especially loved it. It allows others to enjoy your adventures.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Traditionally, the postcards always get back before we do! 😁 Lovely piece 😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Alex, I love the sentiment behind the poem! That’s also one of my favourite things to do when I travel is to send a post card to people and let them know I’m thinking of them! Thank you for sharing the story that inspired such a beautiful poem! It brings an extra layer of emotion and sentimental value to it!

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    This poem is interesting for those infected by wanderlust. Read mine too? https://vocal.media/fiction/the-story-of-estella-and-harold

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Yes, the market for postcards is almost extinct. When I was in Hawaii, last May, I could not even find a store that sold stamps. Very nice poem!

  • I had no idea that postcards still existed! So happy that everyone you sent them to loved it! Beautiful poem!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    I adore the imagery in this one! The thought of memories traveling all over to be posted to a friend has a bittersweet feeling for me. Well Done Alexander!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Beautiful poem; I love this. :)

  • ARC10 months ago

    Love the sentiment in this, Alexander. Great thought - will keep this in mind next time I’m abroad. Cheers

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Bon voyage, that sounds amazing! Great work on the poem.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    This is such a joy to read and reread! So positive, and a lovely meter that flows beautifully with the content of the poem itself. I really love the ways you play with the phrase "to you from me" to make the rhymes work. I wish I could travel as much as you seem to! I'd love to visit Iceland, especially, but also Sweden. I imagine you have quite the fondness for postcards. Do you also have a collection from people you've met all over the world, I wonder?

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Love this so much! I love postcards and collect them (and have given them to my daughter!) ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.