Poets logo

Ode to Journeys Taken Together

To all the miles, provinces, countries, and continents

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Ode to Journeys Taken Together
Photo by Haithem Ferdi on Unsplash

100 miles seems pretty far.

But you and I, we don't measure like that.

160 kilometres, perhaps?

No, they won't fit our purpose either.

Not the sole we balance on.

What then, oh faithful friend?

Months, you say?

I disagree.

What is it they always tell me... it's not the age but the mileage.

And yet we agreed.

Not to use those to count.

Why tiptoe around

The only one that's sound.

Step by earnest step, we walked the whole world round.

From here to there and everywhere,

We ranged from dawn to dusk.

At first you caused me pain.

I blistered at your touch.

But then we learned to get along,

And with you on I beat a tune,

My very own walking song.

Hundreds of miles,

Even more kilometers,

Hundreds of thousands of steps from then to now.

But all things must come to an end.

I'm sorry to lay you here to rest.

Would it have been better upon a quest?

Across the seas or in the west?

Alas, here it is that we must part.

I must make my own, and separate way,

With new ones on, this sunny day.

So here and now I bid adieu,

To you,

My very favourite walking shoes.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Such a hard pressed farewell, I completely get the sentiment! I will use a set of shoes until they have holes in them and they boarder on unprofessional to wear at my work place! But alas, now you have the tedious task of breaking in a new pair!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    at first, I thought this was about love, but it's about something more intense: a good pair of shoes

  • Awww, this was a wonderful ode to your shoes! I loved it!

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    "And with you on I beat a tune, My very own walking song." It's hard to live up to the prompt better than this! Nice ode, Alexander.

  • Love it 😍❤️📝💯‼️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.