Poets logo

Headlights Aren’t Always Lullabies

8/5/22 12:49am

By Olivia DodgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
14

We grew up differently, you see. A child in muddy water who has never been so scared at the site of the world around them. Wasps with wings as large as propellers and the shells of a bug they would come to admire scattered across oceans. Headlights so bright their childhood home paints across their eyelids in neon colors. You, hand held and laces tied but a twinge in your brow for you can see how this river once flowed with blood. Arms and legs bound with cement, memories transcribed below them. There are countless ways to open a carcass— take its hand and jump head first. Father always said to watch my feet but my eyes were drawn to the sky. A beratement around each corner, internal alarms so silent I had yet to hear them for years. Every headlight becomes a lullaby if you shut your eyes tight enough. Every stop sign becomes an apology if you’re delusional enough. You say your child- hood drags behind you like a dead body but mine has always dragged me.

— ODH

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
14

About the Creator

Olivia Dodge

22 | Chicago

ig: l1vyzzzz & lntlmate

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • De Liana2 years ago

    Thanks for sharing 😊 It was a great read. All the best and happy writing.

  • Thanks for sharing 😊 It was a great read. All the best and happy writing.

  • Mr.Khan2 years ago

    Nice imagination, here is a child expression I depicted: https://vocal.media/poets/sweet-innocence

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Intense imagery and an interesting narrative!

  • Chelsea Hope2 years ago

    Very well written. Love how the words draw you into the surrealism.

  • Lune2 years ago

    "Father always said to watch my feet but my eyes were drawn to the sky" I love this line

  • Aisha Shamim 2 years ago

    short and impressive

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.