Poets logo

Ghosts

Supernal Romance

By Apoorva UpadhyayPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
1
Ghosts
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I wake up in bed

With different people

Ghosts all, of future and past.

I wake up to faces

Unheard and unseen

Places never been.

I wake up with people

Strangers all

Unloved, untouched

I wake up to people

Having loved them

But not at all.

I wake up and sleep

With different people everyday

Trying to keep the loneliness

And emptiness at bay.

Walking on the fringes of life

Of eternal infernal death

I walk through them

I wake up or not at all

To unseemly reality

To solid dreams made of lust

That insatiable beast who wants some more

Then not at all.

I wake up with faces

Lying next to mine

I love them sometimes

And they not at all.

In the fantasies of loving

I wake up with people

In the rapture of union

I wake up with them

True untrue

Faithful faithless

Lonely touched

Or not at all.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Apoorva Upadhyay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    I like the way you wrote this and I found myself relating to certain parts. Good one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.