Poets logo

Murals in Their Eyes

7/21/22

By Olivia DodgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

There is a man on the bus who covers his face hand-crafted covid repellent or what ever it may be do not look at me his eyes wander far unto the back seats his legs rebel against him stay stay stay the newspaper one day and an untouched grocery bag the next I have no choice and there’s no one at the train station at 9pm on a Sunday you say these emotions within you are heavy and my shadow is just far enough away to make my heart race but this poet took his time he made a mural of his words so when I pass I will stop in my tracks and imagine the grocery bags where have you gone now look at me look at me I will pull the cord for you but my stop is soon I did not mean to shake you from your slumber ma’am I mean to exit now and so our time together ends will I see you here again on this west-bound route look at me answer me

— ODH

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
2

About the Creator

Olivia Dodge

22 | Chicago

ig: l1vyzzzz & lntlmate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.