Poets logo

Have I Created a Monster

A happy / sad monster

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 2 min read
15
Photo courtesy of the Author

I watched you wander the house day after day,

And often wondered was it much of a life,

Cooped in the same set of four walls,

Day after day, after years of stalking the wildlife.

😽

Do you miss the scents upon the breeze?

Are you sad you no longer trek through the adventures?

Just the same environment, the same four walls,

The same old, same old, no more misadventures.

😽

I decided to give you a small gift of freedom,

Hooked a great deal on the tools we’d need,

Excited for you and the pleasure you’d gain,

A trek is in your future, I did concede.

😽

The postie arrived with a parcel for you,

A special coat to wrap around your chest,

You first turned your nose up at this vest,

Until you realised you were the best dressed.

😽

As the door swung open you took off in glee,

Freedom for the first time in quite a number of years,

You sniff everything within your sight,

And soon overcome any forgotten fears.

😽

You toss and rolled on the scented grass,

Raced down the driveway to look around in joy,

Scooted through different yards in interest,

Absolutely the happiest little boy.

😽

But then I turned you around and waltzed you home,

Oh boy, didn’t you argue this with me,

An hour and fifteen minutes not near long enough,

To get your fill of being finally free.

😽

Now you cry in the mornings asking for more,

Although when I give in it’s never long enough for you,

I live with your mournful cries in the afternoon,

And worry that all I’ve done is made you blue.

😽

You take it in hand to problem solve this issue,

Reaching for the front door handle determined to flee,

When that doesn’t work, you try to dig your way out,

Sure that if you dig long enough you’ll soon be free.

😽

When I thwart your efforts with weighted boxes

Placed conveniently in front of the door,

You push and pull until you squeeze between them,

And scratch and dug at the floor some more.

😽

I thought I was clever when I turned the boxes upright,

But you chose to sit in them and dig deeper,

So I turned them upside down much to your disgust,

And you sat and cried, who made me the door keeper?

😽

When I looked away, you discovered you could jump on top,

And reach the door handle from the height I’d built,

That wasn’t the plan mister, it was meant to deter you,

Your determination suddenly filled me with guilt.

😽

We explore the neighbourhood twice daily now,

But still you ask and beg and cry,

More Mum please, please open the door,

Because I know you will continue to try.

😽

I wished to help you spread your metaphorical wings,

But instead I have to wonder if I created a monster instead,

For every inch I give you try to take a mile,

Patience dear boy! You push where others fear to tread!

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

nature poetry
15

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Aww... this was beautifully crafted Colleen!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I enjoyed this! Well done!

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    😊💕

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    Yes, you created a monster 🐈 but the sweetest one possible ❤️

  • For the longest time our cats were indoor/outdoor (with the door opening frequently). We've pretty much always lived in small towns with no leash laws. We had one cat who had primarily been indoor. Every once in a while she would try to sneak out when we were going through. She'd land on the porch, crouch down & look around with no clue what to do until we opened the door & let her back in.

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Brilliant and full of emotion! I feel for that kitty. One taste of freedom and...

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    A great poem, Colleen! I am lucky, my cats don't like going outdoors. And I adopted them from a shelter.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Uh oh. You gave him a snack, but he wants the buffet. Settle down, Peach.

  • A delightful slice of felinity

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Colleen, this was delightful and too cute and cool. Loving it!!!

  • Lol, twice a day now? He's soooooo cute and funny!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    I loved everything about this. The flow, your choice of words, the story-telling, just everything. So well done.

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.