Poets logo

Haunting Memories

A. Rose

By A. RosePublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Haunting Memories
Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

I wake to soft cries that fill my mind.

Bright pools of blood soak within my nightmares,

I watch it drip from delicate fingertips.

Memories flood with crimson rainfalls.

A night not long ago haunts me in the morning light.

His lips were stained with my name,

Such poetry and yet, blood is my only ink.

His blood has me in the silhouettes of his destruction.

So, I play with his shadows,

Dancing with the slaughtered souls, faded into the echo of bloodless tears.

I write down their names, hoping to hear them sing to me one day.

Their whispers are etched in my scarlet letters.

His words are never forgotten as blood breaks the sound of a shattered heartbeat.

This is what haunts me.

sad poetrylove poems

About the Creator

A. Rose

Hello readers, I hope you are all enjoying the content I have created for you. I would love to hear your feedback, any is appreciated! Thanks again for checking out my stories,

A. Rose

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilake4 days ago

    Absolutely brilliant.

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    The repetition of blood along with “scarlet” and “crimson” painted some vivid red imagery! Nicely done!

  • T. Licht5 days ago

    some poems defy words - 💕👌❤️😽👍💖

A. RoseWritten by A. Rose

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.