Poets logo

The Dream

a poem

By Mother CombsPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
The Dream
Photo by Liz Vo on Unsplash

The evening was fair and clear,

As I sat on the porch and read my newspaper.

The radio was tuned to an AC/DC song,

When Angus hit a double chord,

And the light seemed to intensify.

Looking up from the gazette,

I spied three moons in the sky,

A sight from parallel worlds.

I stared in wonder,

I stared in awe,

At the wonders that seemed to unfold!

Flora and Fauna from other Earths

Occupying space where they weren’t before

Crushing whatever was there before!

I looked on in fearful fascination

When suddenly, I saw a most fearsome sight!

A silver serpent flew through the air alongside a 747!

Realizing I was standing up, I sat down,

Less I fell down the porch steps.

I took a drink of whiskey.

I chased it with Coca-Cola.

I thought maybe I had drunk too much.

I started to rub my eyes, but then I thought better.

I was scared to close my eyes

And miss what new wonder would appear

I told myself that the Ganja had to be laced

There was no way that man had a horse’s face

The things I was seeing were beyond explanation

A strange man appeared before me,

And threw a sheet over me

Causing me to thrash and fall backwards

Crashing into something soft,

I pulled the sheet off my head

And was in my bed

With the sun shining in the windows

On a perfectly normal summer’s day

fact or fictionsurreal poetryFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶a day ago

    The 747 & serpent seem to have stolen the show with this poem🙃. Very vivid dream.

  • Ameer Bibia day ago

    Really love your cathcy writing style 👌

  • Mariann Carroll2 days ago

    Great imagery in this poetry. That’s some dream

  • Oooo, I wanna see the serpent flying too! Loved your take on Poppy's Prompts!

  • Grz Colm2 days ago

    Nifty! 😄👍 And whoa, also love this imagery, “ A silver serpent flew through the air alongside a 747!” 👏

  • Andrea Corwin 2 days ago

    hahahahaha I'd like to have a drink there while looking at the serpent flying by the 747!

  • T. Licht2 days ago

    love the topsy-turvyness of this poem.

  • Sweileh 8882 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my stories now.

  • Fly Alone2 days ago

    So real and surreal - objective and magical. Wow!

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    Thrilling and tumultuous; ,"Silver Serpent" spun my curiosity.

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.