Poets logo

haunted

an inverse poem, to be read both forward and backwards, line-by-line.

By Morgana MillerPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
12
haunted
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

this beautiful life

lies, haunted sometimes by

prophecy

a dream told me, once…

ready?

i will die when i’m

thirty-eight—

not a sentence

contained in my dream

is possibly

fate, misconstrued.

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    This was a haunting and thought-provoking read, and “I will die when i’m” I such a pivotal line to anchor the middle of this. Nicely done👏🏾

  • Wow expertly done. I think that opening line is crucial, because it is the beautiful life you are talking about that is haunted but in reverse you’re saying it’s haunted by the beautiful life. That’s such an interesting concept, I had to read that backwards and forwards a few times. Excellent stuff!

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Wow! Well done!😊💕

  • Beautifully done, Morgana. Each direction reads with its own distinct sensibility.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Those lines in the center just slam into your gut. I loved the change in meaning when it hits them. Brilliantly done, Morgana :)

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Gorgeous work. Def one of the best I've seen.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    This is kind of haunting, yet beautiful. Nice balance of poetic wording with a detailed thought. Well done

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Cool poem

  • John Cox3 months ago

    i will die when i’m thirty-eight— i will die when i’m Ready this beautiful life lies, haunted sometimes by prophecy prophecy lies, haunted sometimes by this beautiful life I am haunted by this poem. I keep reading it over and over, but the emotion does not pass.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Crikey. I admittedly am still struggling with my inverse ideas so far...but this is fantastic work, Morgana. As usual, you are making us think while expressing some deep emotions. Well done, very well done, miss!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.