Poets logo

Happy Endings

An adaptation of Linklater's 'Before Midnight' from the POV of Jesse

By Binayak KhatriPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1

Forever grateful happy endings exist, at least for you and me,

A part of you, a part of me in the two most beautiful girls that one could ever see;

But the years and responsibilities have taken their toll,

As we transformed into this typical older couple, searching for their soul;

You still have my whole heart, but it feels like you’re returning pieces of it in increments,

I miss the long walks and the longer talks, replaced with the fear of constant predicaments;

Our love no longer whole as we were forced to divide it,

Like the days spent walking in cities thinking of all the cigarettes we lit;

Our conversations and smiles are there but fewer,

I still love how you say, ‘cute’, along with many things much newer;

We never wanted arguments but they seem inevitable,

Passion turns into real love but it seems less stable;

Professions and responsibilities take up our time,

I’ll never forget the night in that park with the borrowed wine;

Lucky was I to have had so many years with you,

But I want so many more, despite the differences old and new;

Our conversations seem divided like the hours in a day,

The best decision of my life was when I decided to stay;

I don’t say this but the years have just added to your beauty and charm,

Even when we disagree, we know we mean no harm;

‘’Would you still ask me to get off the train with you?,’ you say,

I answer with a joke but the truth is I would, even after all your hairs turn grey;

The girls want us to be married, but I’m afraid to ask,

Unlike the many sunsets we shared together, the easiest of tasks;

I always reminisce our very first kiss on the wheel,

You’re the same mesmerising girl whose heart, from the start I wanted to steal;

Silly arguments lead to bigger unwanted fights,

I regret my choice of words on certain nights;

At times I pressure you to be rational and unemotional,

But you think I want you to be only devotional;

You ask me whether we’d still be together if not for the girls,

And think I’m unhappy with you and your pearls;

You storm out on me and I’m ashamed to feel relief,

Have the years produced less happiness and more grief?

You explain your insecurities and I try to make you feel better,

But you hurl mean words at me and our lives feel so much wetter;

You accuse me of things and in anger I say, yes,

You finally tell me that you don’t love me anymore and I no longer have to guess;

As I see you leave again, this time for real, out that door,

I realise you’re the only one that i will ever love and adore;

So I follow you out and try to engage you in a game,

Because I know you to be that girl who got off the train for me, the very same.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Binayak Khatri

Dive into my creative pool, where you'll be guided by words embroidered in a way that will help you lose yourself for a while in riveting anecdotes fueled by an inexhaustible supply of memories and imagination

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.