Poets logo

Return and Reunion

An adaptation of Linklater's 'Before Sunset' from the POV of Jesse

By Binayak KhatriPublished about a month ago 2 min read
2

Everythings changed but all your memories still remain,

My heart shattered a long, long time ago, in that same city after I waited and waited in vain;

I didn't want to forget the finest day of my life spent with you,

So I sealed it in ink and ventured into something new;

But when I saw you again, my heart recalibrated its beats,

I didn't know what to do or say all over again, my life was so incomplete;

The first real thing you ask me is, 'Were you there?'

I reply with the same question and you try to hide a shy and apologetic glare;

I try to lie, but like always, you figure it out,

You apologise several times but I was never mad, just happy to be with you, my first and only love without a doubt;

You admit you read the book and were uncomfortable seeing yourself from my point of view,

We both more or less appear the same despite everything seemingly new;

Suddenly between pleasant conversations you ask me how you look,

I say something trivial but you're like fine wine advertised in a connosiour's book;

Almost effortlessly we slip into our usual rhythm of easy laughs and delightful talks,

Though I can no longer hold your hand, I'm happy with these familiar

and aimless walks;

The meandering pieces of my heart try to scatter when you tell me you don't remember,

But all that matters is you're finally here after that long and cold December;

You're beliefs seem to have changed although a few remain,

But it feels so good to talk to you I would even risk walking with you in the rain,

Your hypothetical scenarios make me ponder and laugh,

I reminisce my days as a drummer, music always being my other better half;

You ask me about things you already know,

And I'm forced to do the same but my heart feels like it will explode;

You describe the things you missed about me that made you happy and sad,

I admit the real reason behind my book and though you don't believe me, you look glad;

I tell you how things could have been different if you'd been there again, you try to cheer me up with all the joy that remain,

My heart melts when you say you still want to love and be loved despite all the pain;

You have a mini meltdown after you admit you poured all your romance into our day,

I hold back tears, just long enough to calm you down with what i have to say,

Recurring dreams of you pregnant and naked with me in bed,

Disappear when I try to hold you and I wake up in tears instead;

You finally embrace me and old feelings long buried are stirred,

My vision this time for real is blurred;

Why does all our meeting have to be always so short and hurried?

While the wait was so long, our time has again scurried;

Songs and guitar replace the romance,

I ask you to sing a tune thats supposed to be a dance;

Your lyrics transport me to that warm summer's night in the green park,

I now know that I'm not only the one with that indelible mark;

You song is sung and it's time we parted ways once more,

But this time I can't and will not make the same mistake as before.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Binayak Khatri

Dive into my creative pool, where you'll be guided by words embroidered in a way that will help you lose yourself for a while in riveting anecdotes fueled by an inexhaustible supply of memories and imagination

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.