Poets logo

You're Gone

An adaptation of the Linklater's Before Sunrise from the POV of Jesse

By Binayak KhatriPublished about a month ago 5 min read
Like

On yet another train, as I gaze out the window, focusing on nothing particularly new,

You appear like an angel personified, looking like Cinderella, perhaps with only the one glass shoe;

Your subtle gaze catches my eye but you look away too soon,

Your face like all the pleasant things in nature in the month of June;

I would normally say something impressive but there's already an excuse,

So I ask you the obvious, hoping my eagerness, you will deduce;

Your head turns away from your book, and your angelic voice fills my ears,

Almost immediately my hurting heart races, driving away the imagined fears;

I donno what to say next but you prolong the conversation with an odd, but interesting fact,

Surprisingly I'm able to add to it, without much thinking or tact;

We're both pleasantly surprised at how we chat up each other with ease,

The only thing that worries me is that it'll soon be time for me to leave;

My stop arrives but I don't even want to contemplate a farewell,

So I decide to pitch an almost crazy idea, which I'm hoping you'll think is swell;

You show the tiniest of hesitations but you're too sweet to refuse,

Walking the streets of this charming city with you, feels like a dream cruise;

Butterflies flutter inside when you ask, 'Have you been in love?'

I give you a short answer but it feels like, you are the one I've always dreamed of;

Conversations unfold with lots of laughter and acclaim,

Our perceptions a little different but conclusions almost same;

We try stealing glances at each other when the record spins with melodies so beautifully sad yet true,

I wish you and I were the only people under a patch of sky, always blue;

Your face heartbreakingly beautiful as we spend the last vestiges of the day on the wheel,

The view so breath taking, yet you are the one who seems vividly unreal;

I stumble on words unable to express how I feel,

But you realise what I need, and with the warmest of kisses my heart you steal;

Hard to find words to describe the wide array of overwhelming emotions,

Then she says, remember we are nothing but stardust, a little diluted by calculations;

Taking your hand, I tell you how I'd cry over my coffee had you refused to come,

I'm further smitten, when you say "Awww!" and kiss me again, even when I act dumb;

Your never ending smiles, I'll forever admire,

Our brief time together, like scampering rabbits, in a song accompanied by a lyre;

Your thinking original and wisdom different yet so true,

My emotions and rationality all mixed up, like ingredients in a stew;

I'm content just to be a smudge on your vast canvas,

There is probably no one but us, who can really understand us;

Unexpected poetry on riverbanks leads to a deepened connection,

The night is young, but much wiser on reflection;

You're so euphonious even when you swear,

Hearing about your failed romances makes me utter a quiet prayer;

You ask me a difficult question but I answer, deflecting as much as I'm able,

Bright colours and you, make me finally feel a little stable;

Gendered points of view on the battle of the sexes lead to a hillock of endless discussions,

Why do we have this longing to love and be loved no matter how rational our deductions?

We look for answers in someone when, as you put it, there's more meaning in empty spaces to be found,

This feels more and more like a private dream, with only you and me around;

The feel of your hand in mine is nothing I ever experienced before,

Like the promise of an ideal horizon on the barely visible shore;

Your games, so adorably cute like your unexpected confessions,

You thought your anecdotes scared me, but, in truth, I can relate to your obsessions;

You say you like to feel my eyes when you look away,

I'm usually tongue tied but in this dreamy space with you, I have so much more to say;

You claim, you're the only person you could hurt, and that makes me somewhat sad,

But all this while just looking and listening to you has made me unimaginably glad;

I feared, like always, I had misread the signs,

But I'm reassured you are my Juliet, always with the perfect lines;

You're ready to risk a plane, just to be with me,

I would do anything to win your heart's master key;

Everything is so finite like our one and only day together,

We decide to make the most of it in this warm but pleasant weather;

Premature goodbyes feel so heavy, I wish somethings, like this day would last forever,

I know nothing is meant to last, not even the stars, but I don't want to let go of your hands, never;

Can't believe it's already time for our last whispered conversations, on the grass, under the stars, over a final bottle of wine,

My mind wants to be rational but my heart is slowly fracturing as we pretend to be just fine;

You talk of beautiful moments and fantasise about real love,

Yet you keep your heart guarded when push comes to shove;

You tell me you don't want to be just another story in my book, but that would never be the case,

Your aurora forever in my soul, never replaced;

You let your guard down and pour out your heart,

I embrace your affection, unable to imagine us apart;

Like a stripped down and untangled version of myself in your presence,

My life, a mere satellite of your essence;

The sun has risen but it's no longer a fine day,

Our feelings, not with words, but through this final dance we convey;

All I want to do is to lose myself in your expression,

I look at your beautiful face and carve a mental impression;

Mannerisms over time, you say, will make you completely fall for someone,

But I have already fallen head over heels for you, your idiosyncrasies, my one and only one;

I recite the memories of a poem, to distract you, and my tearful mind,

It's time we parted ways, why is the universe so unfairly unkind;

You shower me with the last of your hurried kisses, and I never ever want to let you go,

That look on your face and longing in your eyes serves as the final blow;

Unable to bear the separation, we decide on a plan, six months on,

But as your train leaves, I feel we've made a big mistake and all I can think is, 'you're gone.'

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Binayak Khatri

Dive into my creative pool, where you'll be guided by words embroidered in a way that will help you lose yourself for a while in riveting anecdotes fueled by an inexhaustible supply of memories and imagination

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.