Poets logo

Growing Up

This is growing up...

By The Liv ChaptersPublished 4 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Every year, I grow older,

And with each passing year, life seems to give me the cold shoulder.

Every day, I feel more lost, without a compass or a guide,

No one truly prepared me for the cost of life's ride.

Transitioning from childhood to adulthood,

No one warned me of the responsibility and fault I would be understood.

Adulting has turned into a long and uncertain game,

I often wonder if we all experience it the same.

Every morning, I wake up hoping for ease,

That life will become a bit breezier, a gentle breeze.

As time goes on, I question where I went astray,

Was "fake it till you make it" the right way?

The anxieties of life become overwhelming,

Every aspect of it feels tense and compelling.

Growing up has proven to be a challenging climb,

I wonder if anyone holds the secret to a fulfilling time.

At times, I feel like I've been set up for disaster,

That happily ever afters are merely a fictional master.

Finding a stable job appears impossible, hard to attain,

Are happiness and financial stability even in the same domain?

Each day that passes, I sense a growing sense of failure,

At this point, I'm just searching for a savior.

Growing up shouldn't be this relentlessly tough,

Perhaps I was dealt all the wrong cards, that's rough.

Yet, this is an inevitable part of life's journey,

This is growing up, through all the strife and uncertainty.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Liv Chapters

http://instagram.com/thelivchapters

http://tiktok.com/@thelivchapters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.