Poets logo

Grandma's Kitchen

A prompt from V*ViM

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
16
A picture of my Grandmother in the fall of 1988, two weeks before she passed away. Taken at her kitchen table.

My Grandma would always be sitting at the kitchen table,

Drinking a beer from the can

Always ready with a hug from an awkward child

She always would cook what I asked for to eat,

Whether it was fried chicken or hominy with sauerkraut

Telling my mom that I’d eat normally when I got older

The kitchen always had the smell of pine-sol, lemons, and sugar cookies

Pinesol from mopping

Lemons from washing the dishes

Sugar cookies because she baked the softest ones around.

Walls covered in fruit

Windows letting in the light

A nice, warm, welcoming place

The family gathered at the table to talk

Because Grandma was the center of our lives

She was a lap for the babies

A shoulder for the criers

Always ready with a smile

Gently teaching me my ABC's

My Grandma made the kitchen a happy place full of memories

That will never be forgotten.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

This was a prompt for the group Vocal * Voices in Minor. You can check it out at the link below. We'd love for you to join us.

Familylove poemsfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Lovely memories. I can feel the love here.

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    Beautifully written!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad5 months ago

    This is such a lovely tribute. Your grandmother sounds like a wonderful woman. I love the details about the different kinds of food and her drinking a beer. They really bring her—and your family—to life for the reader.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Such beautiful memories. Love this.

  • What a beautiful tribute to a wonderful woman. Yep, ya brought a tear to my eye, Mother.

  • This was so touching and emotional! Such a beautiful tribute to your grandma. I loved your poem and photo!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Aw I love this M Combs.. particularly the sensory language, the smells etc. 😊👍 very excellent tribute too. You look a lot like your daughter here!!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    So nice!! Love your poetry! ❤️

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Awww, that's precious. Lovely memory and well crafted poem.

  • Suze Kay5 months ago

    Aw, now I’m missing a woman I never knew. Beautiful story, MC!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Thank you for taking me into her kitchen to have a cookie with you!

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    This is so sweet! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.