Poets logo

A Tale of Woe

A poem

By Mother CombsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Image by Prawny from Pixabay

Busted Eggs

Spilled milk

Flour on the wall

Sugar on the floor

A forgotten order

Crack!

Another knot

A wooden spoon

An upset mother

You’d think

He’d remember

To wash

A little faster

Crack!

Menu’s on the door

Bowl on the floor

Bent ladle

The pot has a dent

She asked for a fork

Ten minutes ago

This boy of hers

With his head

In the clouds

Crack!

Bringing him

Back to Earth

Just long enough

For him to

Remember

What his job

For the day is

And to wash

His hands

More often

Free VerseFor Funfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Haha cute. ☺️👏 Mum used to hit my hands with the wooden spoon. . Remember being chased around the kitchen actually lol!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This feels like a fun nursery rhyme, and the general abuse/injury only adds to that feel 😁

  • The good news is that when he has to go to the doctor for all his lumps & bruises, his head will still be so far off in the clouds he won't need any anesthesia. (Though, I'm guessing he'll still get charged for it.)

  • This was too funny. Brought me back to memories of wooden spoons in me own mum's kitchen

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    This was top par; I appreciate the comic relief entwined with frustration.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This certainly have your signature story written on it. A mothers job , oh boy !!! 😂

  • Rene Peters4 months ago

    Sounds like me! 😂

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Hmm. I can empathise with her here!

  • Hahahahahahahahaha I was able to relate so much with that boy because I always have my head in the clouds as well!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Loved it! Crack!❣️

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Loved this!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.