Poets logo

Grandma's Food

I miss the food

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

I deeply miss tacos, pizza's delight,

but grandma's cooking haunts my nights.

In this cell with tasteless fare,

I long for meals with loving care.

Both my grandmas, culinary queens.

Their food, a comfort in my dreams,

I remember Sundays, family feasts.

Now traded for these prison beasts.

Grandma's pies, a crust so sweet,

the way she'd cook, a rhythmic beat.

Her hands, with love, would knead the dough,

creating magic, a warm, soft glow.

The other’s stew, rich and hearty,

gathered 'round, a festive party.

Each bite, a taste of home so dear,

now lost in time, brings forth a tear.

The blandness here, it strips my soul,

no warmth, no love, no fragrant bowl.

Just lifeless plates, day by day,

in this prison, where dreams decay.

I close my eyes, and I can see,

a kitchen warm, calling me.

The scents, the sounds, the family cheer.

A life that feels so far from here.

I miss their meals, the love they poured.

Into each dish, forever stored.

In memories that keep me warm,

through prison’s cold and heartless storm.

Oh, to taste their food once more,

to feel that love right to my core.

But here I sit, with sorrow deep,

as prison food makes my heart weep.

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin8 days ago

    I was touched by how you intertwine food with love, tradition, and family bonds. Your poem celebrates not only the flavors and aromas but also the deeper connections and stories that surround them. It's a heartfelt tribute to the importance of heritage and the simple joys of shared meals.

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.