Poets logo

Good Gravy!

A smooth move by Yours Truly

By Dana CrandellPublished 6 months ago β€’ Updated 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
16
Good Gravy!
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

Friends, I am the gravy master, without peer.

Come Thanksgiving, Christmas, anytime of year.

Cream with sausage for your biscuit.

Brown to drizzle on your brisket.

Any kind you like, and you'll find no lumps here!

*

But I learned this art while cooking in the back

Of a cafeteria whose seats would pack

With three-hundred souls a day

So I guess it's safe to say

If I make the gravy, there won't be a lack.

*

I have learned, with time, that roux will keep a while,

So when I whisk up too much, I simply smile

And refrigerate a portion

Turning a would-be misfortune

Into food prep for the future, done with style.

*

In preparing a nice dinner for my wife

I grilled chops so tender, no need for a knife

Mashed potatoes, smooth and creamy,

Fresh green beans, sauteed and dreamy

And the smoothest gravy I've made in my life.

*

Oh, the dinner was delightful, with one quirk.

Something in the gravy didn't seem to work.

Although smooth, the taste we savored,

Oddly sweet and almond flavored,

Caused my wife to look upon me with a smirk.

*

While I wondered what my cooking skills had wrought,

She stood up and showed me what I had forgot

What I saw upon the fridge shelf

Made me want to slap my bad self.

Yes, my roux was there; the cookie dough was not.

***

A little something for the Smooth Challenge:

humor
16

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. SchΓ€fer4 months ago

    Is this real because its amazing πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Hahaha! This was great! You had me salivating over the texture/ taste of a good gravy and then laughing at the mistake of you accidentally using cookie dough instead!! Great story/ poem, I loved every minute of it!!

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Haha! Love!!! Such a fantastically delicious poem! Cookie gravy- that’s right up my alley! Bravo, groovy gravy man! πŸ˜‚

  • Awesome! Too funny!

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    … it’s just teminded me of when I poured custard over my vegetables, thinking that it was cheese sauce πŸ™ˆ

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    Ha ha! Brilliant, and so clever with the rhyming ❀️. Don’t worry, follow my lead and just blame it on the menopause πŸ˜‚

  • Hahahahahahhahahahahaha that's hilarious? I don't think I would call it a mistake. I'll call it a milkshake! Gimme a straw and I'll finish it hehehehehe! Loved your limericks!

  • On the bright side, those were probably the smoothest cookies you'd ever made, too, lol!

  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    This one brought a smile and then a little chuckle. I was getting hungry for some hot, savory gravy and could almost taste it. But I might have had a similar reaction to sweet, chocolate-flavored gravy that your wife had. I know this is intended to be funny, but I would bet you would never make that mistake again

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    ❀

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Brilliant. Well okay, maybe not. 🀣

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    coming to your house for some gravy buddy and cookies πŸ˜³πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈ, fun read my friend 😊😊

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    Really funny ending, Dana! Really enjoyed this poem :)

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    LOL!!! Smooth and hilarious!!! Fabulous, good gravy!!!

  • KA Stefana 6 months ago

    well done!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Lol, funny, creative, and well-written, Dana. Well done.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    You've done it again, sir! Hilarious and just some stunning rhyming. Genius entry! Well bloody done, gravy master!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.