Poets logo

Golden Hour

Reflections

By Dana CrandellPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
40
Sunset over Trinidad Beach. Copyright ©Dana O. Crandell

As the fading darkness of the night succumbs

To the light of a new day, a moment comes

When the kiss of morning sun imparts a glow

Like the fire inside that all the poets know.

*

To the lucky ones that watch the glow begin

It inspires a warm and peaceful state within

Born of gratitude for gifts like wondrous light

That burns, gilded, on all things within our sight.

*

At the close of day, the golden light returns

And on everything its beams caress, it burns

Reflected, aureate, like molten treasure

For a moment, showing beauty beyond measure.

*

When my time upon this world of ours is done

Let my light be mingled with the setting sun

To reflect to those whose light has touched my life

To encourage and sustain and dissuade strife.

*

And to those whom I have injured on my way

May this parting gift help heal you on that day.

***

Just some thoughts.

nature poetryinspirational
40

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Claire Bennett6 months ago

    This is very touching and beautiful ❤️

  • C. H. Richard6 months ago

    Oh that last line brought a tear to my eye. Lovely ❤️ Well done and congrats on Top Story ❤️

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Such a soft and humble sentiment that has the desired effect. Touching! Poetic Top Story!

  • Test6 months ago

    A touching and reflective piece, beautifully crafted!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Hoped this would be up there! Nice job! 👏🎉

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Wow. This was really quite emotional. Beautiful work, my friend :) Congratulations on top story for this heartfelt piece. Love, Sissy :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This was so beautiful! It was heart warming and soulful! I am left with this uplifting and heart felt peace inside! Great work Dana and Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Told you! Congrats, sir!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is simply beautifully done. The flow is magical and the content inspiring. Congrats on a wonderfully written Top Story.

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    congratulations on TS. this is really so beautiful.

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Soothing thoughts for a chaotic world.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    This brought tears to my eyes and so much comfort. Beautiful and well deserved Top Story!!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on the well-deserved TS.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    There it is! So deserving! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽💞💫

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Dana....DANA! This completely took my breath away. I say it every time, but your nature poetry is seriously next level. Such beautiful parallels to life weaved in here. LOVE beyond LOVE this one!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Brilliant! ☺️👍

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Breathtaking. Just....splendid. Wow. This won't make sense...but it felt like Christmas to read this poem.

  • Kalina Bethany6 months ago

    Reminded me of watching the sunrise against the mountainous peaks in Vancouver Island, BC after camping for a night with my sister. I was inspired to write poetry then, too. Thanks for bringing this memory back with your beautifully written piece ❤️

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    The man comes along and signs off with "just some thoughts" to one of the most thoughtful and beautiful pieces I've read. Yeah, Dana! Just some thoughts. Wanna know my "just some thoughts" on your stunning poem? Rhetorical question, whether you do or don't, you're going to read them lol! This is flawless. Just. I echo Jason's thoughts further down about wishing I could write this purely and cleanly (I know we all have different styles but, just once lol) and this should and will be Top Story. The descriptions and the way you dug deep on them and that last stanza were exceptional. Well done, Sir. Where do I hand in my poet's resignation? (joke haha)

  • This felt like a very powerful mantra! It felt good to chant this a few times! So divine!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Lovely inspirational poem!!! Spectacularly written!!! Love it!!!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Oh man, two things: 1- I wish I could write like this 2- I just realized I hadn't subscribed to you, I could have sworn I had. Ok 3 (Just for good measure)- this will be Top Story

  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    So beautiful ❤️! The light you shine on others now will continue to shine when "that day comes". I love it 💖!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I love the line let my light be mingled... That mingling is my comfort.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful and inspirational. Well done, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.