Poets logo

Godzilla made me do my homework.

*

By Lamar WigginsPublished 27 days ago Updated 27 days ago 1 min read
Dall E

There was a time in life before adhd

was considered the ringleader of my faults.

Doctors informed mother to just

Lay off the candy. It makes them hyper.

(the words, no child ever wants to hear)

It was a warning worse than the dangers of playing with matches.

It didn't work...

I am unique, I proclaimed.

Let it be what it is. Let me exist the way I was intended!

If trouble wanted to be my middle name,

why was it so hard for others to accept?

It wasn't until my eyes met his

that my world came into focus.

Was he real or made up to intrigue the psyche?

Was he a mutant lizard or the only dinosaur

to escape nature's holocaust?

I wanted to be just like him and smash buildings,

sink ships and battle monsters.

I wanted his autograph too...

I did my homework every night thereafter.

My attention span found its footing, I did chores, even used manners.

In return, dad took me to the cinema to see the iconic beast up close.

I left every time with eyes locked in awe.

He took me the museum to learn about many animals who once called this place home.

It was fresh fuel for the underdeveloped dreams swirling above.

The day dad drove me off to college,

the mission had just begun — find my own Godzilla.

He's still there, hidden somewhere, patiently waiting until the day I give him a name.

Dall E

nature poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • L.C. Schäfer16 days ago

    Love this, and finding it very relatable!

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Awesome tale!!! Loved you inspirational poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Wow! Very good! 😊💕❤️

  • I loved this! You spin such great stories through your poetry. I'm always in awe. Great job on this too!

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    Wonderfully written. Well done, my friend. Childhoods dream turn to adult passions.

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    You had me with the title, then reeled me in with your first line, and then held my attention throughout. Wonderful writing, Lamar.

  • Sandra Tena Cole24 days ago

    Awesome! ❣️

  • Jay Kantor25 days ago

    Hi L-Bro - Such an eclectic assortment of Topics and Fans from 'Socks to Horror.' You know I'm not an atta-boy guy. But, I took your lead and started going out of my comfort zone and wrote 'Such a Deal' - I'm so glad that you liked it..! I Heard from the 'Salvation Army,' they offered me a j.o.b...! J-Bro

  • The Dani Writer25 days ago

    Ooh I like this twist on the challenge! Ingenious!

  • This is great Lamar. I love you're writing style it is both sincere yet filled with nuance and symbolism. Great work as always!

  • Tiffany Gordon 26 days ago

    Fabulous work!! Go Lamar!!

  • Real Poetic26 days ago

    So creative!!! Best of luck ❤️❤️

  • Love the picture, love the title and love your poem

  • Oh so moving Lamar. Left me with a tear in my eye.

  • Awww, this was so wonderful. Godzilla was like his anchor, to keep his focus in one place. Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belk27 days ago

    Boys and their dinosaurs! Love it

  • Heather Zieffle 27 days ago

    Wonderfully done capturing childhood imagination that spawns into adult passions. Great entry, Lamar!

  • angela hepworth27 days ago

    I love the way you mix passion and childhood nostalgia in this piece, Lamar! Great work here.

  • D.K. Shepard27 days ago

    Love the clever title, the cool image, and the wonderfully written character sketch of a poem that captures the magic and power of wonder and curiosity

  • John Cox27 days ago

    What Luksi wrote is spot on! It has always amazed me how something as seemingly innocuous as a man dressed in a dinosaur suit stomping all over Tokyo in miniature might mean for a little boy’s future. We make life altering decisions at such tender ages that it seems tragic that our futures are dependent on them. For me that was the scariest aspect of parenthood. No matter how much you love your children you can’t make them make good decisions. Even when you are playful with your storytelling, Lamar, you find unexpected deeps.

  • Luksi Bayou27 days ago

    Delightful! A lesson in managing passion with passion. 👏🏾

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.