Poets logo

Go Gurl, Walk Away Fast!!!!

~Short & Sweet Challenge~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 11 months ago โ€ข Updated 11 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Go Gurl, Walk Away Fast!!!!
Photo by De'Andre Bush on Unsplash

As I sit in the sand...

I pen my life plan...

My soul says...

**"I must love me more!"**

**"Go gurl, walk away fast!"**

**"Live, Live Live!"**

**"Run to the fun!"**

**"Find calm, go bask in the sun!"**

But my mind says:

**"Make it work with the mean jerk, if only for the kids."**

.โค.

Soon, I tell my mind to hush...

Then...

I sign my name...

on...

the long pale form...

if he does sign it too...

a wife I will be no more...

.โค.

I now know...

that TRUE LOVE...

left our home...

eons ago...

when his left fist...

met my nose...

inspirationallove poems

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (27)

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    Domestic Violence is beyond words. Just so incredibly devastating. To be able to leave is not as simple as just packing up and walking away. I think the more people who have experienced DV talk about it openly about it, the more likely we are to be able to help people who want to leave the situations. Thank you for sharing this, there is so much bravery here.

  • EYHCS10 months ago

    The imagination here is intense. As a recovering narcissistic survivor, I felt this one all over! Bravo!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Had to stop by to reread this because I love it so much!!! ๐Ÿ’—

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I am ready to fight. Where you live girl. I come over and bust a nose meself. Oh, I'm a gonna go Madea up in there. Narcissism, did you read my narcissism story. It is just everywhere. Glad you gettin out, hope you gettin out. Assuming. Just dropped by to say hi. Blessings.

  • Colleen Millsteed 11 months ago

    Wow Tiffany this did not head in the direction I thought it was going to. Well written.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Wow! This painted a unsuspecting journey for me. Canโ€™t believe there are so many cowards out there that canโ€™t control themselves. Powerful piece my friend. Glad you listened to the soul. ๐Ÿ’–

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    This self conversation happens for so many women. She should run and never look back โ™ฅ๏ธ Kids will be better as they will have her back as part of her soul was forsaken to stay with him. Exceptional story within a poem โ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธ

  • Powerful, and glad you were strong enough and sensible enough to walk

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Wow, this is gut wrenching and powerful. Itโ€™s raw and real. I absolutely love it. Well done Tiffany.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Snap, snap, snap!

  • Julia Schulz11 months ago

    Yes, powerful and succinct.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    So powerful, Tiffany โค๏ธ Sending you hugs ๐Ÿฅน This is inspirational and so compelling โค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wow!!! Unfortunately, this is a message that had to be written which needs to be read over and over again. Very inspiring and motivating. Awesome poem!!!โ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Ah, that true love will never leave ever again, never again become a fist raised in anger or rage, never become such physical, mental, emotional & spiritual betrayal. But if it does, it's time to leave.

  • Moe Radosevich11 months ago

    This is heart breaking yet so well penned with good advice all wrapped in this gem, ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    Wow! So sorry anyone has to go through this. It's too bad we think "If only for the kids". I believe it is learned behavior to be an abuser or a victim. That helped me to know that I didn't want my kids to learn either behavior!

  • Yes, this is one to run, run, run away from fast and faster and fastest. Great work as always Tiffany!

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    I love this and the message , Strong women fall in love with the wrong person . She is working on getting back to herself again. Sad ending but the journey just began

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wow. That's a powerful piece. Well done, my friend.

  • Alexandria Stanwyck11 months ago

    What a poetic (yes pun intended) way to write about domestic abuse and the difficulty of leaving an abuser. It took years and being close to people who suffered abuse for me to learn not to judge those who stay as long as they do. We don't know their stories or reasons. The best thing we can do is to try to be there for the victims/survivors and try to protect them.

  • Love sucks and it's the most retarted thing on this planet. Instead we should stay single and focus on self love. Loved your poem Tiffy!

  • Sara Wilson11 months ago

    Such a sad and relatable piece. Isn't it such a weird mindset to stay with an abuser "for the kids"? It's like we know it's wrong and we are terrified. We want to protect our kids at all costs but for some reason our mind tells us to "stay for the kids". It doesn't make any sense. We also want to be the first to tell someone to "go, get out! Run!" When we know they've been abused.. but, yet.. we stay in it ourselves and even though we know deep inside it's wrong.. we can't bring ourselves to leave. Because of the kids... ๐Ÿ˜– I hope she ran and didn't look back. I hope she's happier than she's ever been. Her and her kids. ๐Ÿ’•

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Yesssss. Go Gurl! Walk, Run!!!! Away! I am so sorry โ€ฆ angryโ€ฆ saddened, you had to experience this. ๐Ÿ’œ

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 months ago

    Iโ€™d leave! Good poem!

Tiffany Gordon Written by Tiffany Gordon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.