Poets logo

Spice Me Not... ๐ŸŒถ

Paul & Donna Yucky Food Challenge

By Tiffany Gordon Published 10 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
50
Spice Me Not... ๐ŸŒถ
Photo by Thembi Johnson on Unsplash

Lawd, where do I start when it comes to discussing the bane of my existence: my Jalapeno foes๐ŸŒถ and their heartless shenanigans?

And for the love of God, please don't tell me that I need a little spice in my life!

No sir! No ma'am! I'd rather not have to amputate my tongue today or any other day thank you very much!

Jalapeno Foes๐ŸŒถ, have you ever thought that maybe just maybe you come on a bit too strong when I can still smell & taste your essence 4 hours after we depart from one another my G?

My Jalapeno-pains-in-the behind๐ŸŒถ, please answer a few simple questions for me :

1) Why do you exist?

2) Why do I feel like my tongue has been hijacked & branded anytime we interact?

3) Have you tried counseling for your searing tendencies?

As a matter of fact, let's forget the niceties!!!! Why don't you return back to your palatial estate smack dab in the middle of hell where you belong?

And don't even think about darkening my doorstep with your unappreciated antics ever again! I have my Big Momma's switch on hand for emergencies, as well as, the homies on deck for back up!!!!

Hut 1, 2, 3, 4! Now get to steppin! LOL ๐Ÿ˜‚

humor
50

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (51)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    I like some spice but definitely with you on the jalapeรฑo s. Why for love of all holy do they put them in a salad? Great job and congratulations on Top story too โค๏ธ

  • Adeleke Omoshalewa10 months ago

    Hello Sulivan how are you doing For you to transform your store further guidance or insight tailored specifically to your e-commerce business, I'd be more than happy to assist you.

  • Mohamed Hasan10 months ago

    love it.....

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    OMG, Tiffany. Congrats first on Top Story...you went full-on G on dem jalapenos! I disagree entirely with you but...I am so glad you took part in the madness that Donna and I created. This was a stone cold classic. So many lines to pick out - "No sir! No ma'am! I'd rather not have to amputate my tongue today or any other day thank you very much!" "Why do I feel like my tongue has been hijacked & branded anytime we interact?" "Have you tried counseling for your searing tendencies?" "And don't even think about darkening my doorstep with your unappreciated antics ever again! I have my Big Momma's switch on hand for emergencies, as well as, the homies on deck for back up!!!!" This was just sublime, Tiffany, thank you!

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    VERY WELL WRITTEN!. As an Indian i love spice and can definitely relate to this.

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Ayesha Saqib10 months ago

    nice one

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    Yeah, I'm not a fan of chilli as a spice. It doesn't agree with me. I know it's popular, but their are other spices. Congratulations on top story.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    I feel the exact opposite, yet, I love this new perspective! This was so funny and also, I can feel the pain you have experienced in the past. ๐Ÿ˜‚ I once ate an habanero pepper accidentally and it ruined a whole 2 hours of my life; the worse pain ever. I like spicy food, just not whole peppers from hell.

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Well, uh, pepper plants use capsaicin as a deterant for mammals, as our digestive systems destroy their seeds. Hence why their chemicals bind to the heat receptors on our tongues, making it feel hot. Birds don't have this problem. They provide the plants with proper fertilizer, and they also don't have the same heat receptors as mammals do on their tongues. So when a bird eats a spicy pepper they get to "taste the meat, not the heat." So, peppers are just trying to tell us, "No. No. No. No. No! Please, don't hurt my babies!"

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congratulations ๐ŸŽŠ๐Ÿพ

  • Wonderfully humorous tiffany. Why, let me tell you so far everybody's most hated foods or foods that I like. Except for Donna's marshmallows. I do not care for marshmallows at all. But spices or chili's such as jalapeno and cayenne pepper our favorites of mine. I love spicy, spicy foods yummy, yummy, yummy. Give me more, give me more. Congratulations on your top story!

  • oh no, I love peppers (the spicier, the better), but I also love your hilarious poem! "I can still smell & taste your essence 4 hours after we depart" LOL It's the "gift" that keeps on giving! Great stuff, Tiffany! I love it!

  • Holly Pheni10 months ago

    This is hilarious, and I wholeheartedly agree! Congrats on the top story, friend!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ’œ Tiffany, Tiffany, Tiffany: This was a gift that kept on giving! I will not even try to count the hilarious moments here: there were so-o-o many. Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story! ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    I love it! This is great!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Amputation or hemorrhoid surgery? They burn twice! ๐Ÿคฃ Congrats. Hilarious! ๐Ÿ‘

  • Outstandingโ—โ—โ—โ—๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ˜โœจ๐Ÿ˜‰Congratulations Big Sis๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰โœจTop Story๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Congratulations, Tiffany!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Love this! ๐Ÿค— Made me giggle. I love jalapeรฑos, but this is relatable ๐Ÿค—โค๏ธ "I'd rather not have to amputate my tongue today or any other day thank you very much!" LOL ๐Ÿคฃ Congrats on Top Story!! ๐Ÿค—

  • Tomiwa Bolaji10 months ago

    Once upon a time, there was a gentle deer who lived in a forest. The deer was known for its kind heart and gentle nature. All the other animals in the forest loved the deer and would often come to the deer for advice. One day, a hunter came to the forest and started to hunt the animals. The deer knew that it had to do something to protect the other animals. So, the deer went to the hunter and asked him to stop hunting. The hunter was so moved by the deer's kindness that he stopped hunting and left the forest. From that day on, the deer became a hero to all the animals in the forest.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the TS

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    ๐Ÿ˜‚ way too many hilarious lines in this one! I love Jalapeรฑos, but I could definitely relate to bits of this. Have you ever chopped up a jalapeรฑo and then scratch your eye? One of the only times I hate them. Lol! Great job and congrats on top story!!!

  • Elaine Sihera10 months ago

    Yum yum! This looks so nice and a great read, Tiffany. Well done for getting top story, too! :)

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Congratulations! Although I cannot believe you are dissing the Jalapeno. I love them. Ha ha! Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.