Poets logo

Giving It Life

Making It Proud

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
10
Giving It Life
Photo by Reuben Juarez on Unsplash

creativity eludes me, illusive as a cryptid

a mind depleted and empty

ideas leaving my head, restricted

*

the ability to make rhyme, has my mind feeling conflicted

the effort, a brick wall

creativity eludes me, more illusive than a cryptid

*

like an addict, addicted

over again and again

ideas leaving my head, restricted

*

the desire to succeed, nearly unprecedented

write, erase, then, start again

creativity eludes me, more illusive than a cryptid

*

lying in the dark, feeling a bit disconnected

words float, round’ my head

sanity’s unprotected

*

seeking satisfaction from the creation I’ve depicted

images wrestle for their place

creativity eludes me, illusive as a cryptid

ideas leaving my head, restricted

inspirationalsurreal poetrylove poems
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    If it has eluded you, Kelli, what has it done with me? You continue to create marvelously. I barely manage comments, only occasionally with coherence. Blessed Holidays to you & yours.

  • I think many of us would be able to relate to this! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    This is a way to see a writer's life.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. And I don't think you have a problem with creativity, my friend. You're brilliant.

  • Reiley5 months ago

    This was so well-written! The struggles of a writer. The battles we have: most of them within ourselves. I loved reading this, especially that I can relate so well.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    A very beautiful poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.