Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Ghosts.

I went back home.

By RabbitPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
1
Ghosts.
Photo by Florian Lidin on Unsplash

There are ghosts living in this house.

Yes, they certainly live.

They are just as alive as you and me.

And I'm not talking about those who have passed on.

Don't worry, they are here too.

Flashbacks haunt and laugh at me.

The memories infect this place like the mold the grows on the walls.

It's in every bedroom.

I can feel it while walking the halls.

Right down to the floor boards.

Even the steps to the front door hold bad dreams.

That's where he spit food in my face.

In the living room, that's where I collapsed from my overdose.

This hallway is where my nephew came running out from.

I was still drunk from last night.

Here in this room, that's where I let silver meet my skin.

I can hear her yelling my name from here.

All the anger and abuse lives within this house.

These ghosts torment me while I visit.

sad poetryMental HealthFamilyCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emil indw18 days ago

    The ghost in this poem has the character of an onion :(. Your poem is unique.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.