Poets logo

Freedom Is

Only leaving if you want to

By Bethany GPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Such a silly problem

Not knowing what to wear

Any shirt will do

My coworkers won’t care

***

Each of them would match

The pants I’m wearing, which are black.

They wait, hanging, all in a row.

Of the time I have lost track.

***

Because what I’m really thinking about,

Is what I would have to pack

If I knew an army was on its way,

And I wasn’t coming back.

***

I can’t even imagine

Putting that bag together

That would take me far away from home

And through all kinds of weather.

***

The dresses that soaked up sun and lotion,

The heels that have tapped time,

The tops that made me stand up straighter,

They’d all be left behind.

***

And if I never got to go back home

But it survived the bombs and fire,

Would someone else move in

And enjoy the remains of my attire?

***

Would they appreciate my taste in books?

I have an eclectic collection.

Ayn Rand may get burned,

But otherwise, there’s quite the selection.

***

A wineglass would be impractical to take

But my grandma hand painted these.

They are imperfectly beautiful.

I would hope the hand that held them next agrees.

***

I can’t even imagine

Being caught in the middle of a war.

Having a last look around my home,

Before closing the door.

***

With the necessities on my back,

And sweaters to keep warm,

I imagine taking a deep breath

Before turning to join the swarm

***

Of people heading to the borders

Manifested by men

However many years ago

That they’re dying to rearrange again.

***

Would I even make it

Across such a distance,

While my neighbors-turned-soldiers

Put up a lethal resistance?

***

How would my dog make the journey?

The only life I’m responsible for.

I could never abandon her

Like someone else did once before.

***

She’s old though, with grey in her beard

And a lazy disposition.

I don’t think she’d understand

The urgency of our mission.

***

I’d get a wagon and pull her along.

I’m young and strong, I could do it.

I would hope my voice would keep her calm

Despite the bombs and bullets.

***

Maybe I wouldn’t be able to leave.

Maybe I would feel the need to stay

And fight beside my brothers

Whose babies would be taken away

***

By their wives over to safety

While they learned how to hold a gun

And tried to process the fact

That in order for a war to be won

***

People have to die

And they may have to kill

Someone else’s brother or husband.

Where do you find that kind of will?

***

I wonder if children are confused

About who this Marshall is and why

He made a law that takes Dads away

And makes Moms cry.

***

I never thought I’d see a war.

I thought we were too smart.

Arms should be used to hold each other,

Not to blast the world apart.

***

What caveman thought it was a good idea

To mark this as mine and this as yours?

We were all roaming, sharing everything;

To draw a line ensures,

***

That when it’s crossed there will be anger,

Maybe enough to swing a club

That leads to retaliation

And the cyclical shedding of blood.

***

I can’t even imagine

But I will keep on trying

Because for millions this is reality,

Fleeing, crying, dying.

***

Freedom is not having to worry

About where we’ll be tomorrow

It’s knowing we’ll get food and sleep,

And not anticipating sorrow.

***

Being able to build our lives

Without fear that it will all be burned,

These are freedoms and human rights

That should never have to be earned.

social commentary

About the Creator

Bethany G

I was looking for a new hobby

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bethany GWritten by Bethany G

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.