Poets logo

Garden Basics

And quintessential truths

By The Dani WriterPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Garden Basics
Photo by Felipe Labate on Unsplash

In the realm of “I can’t”

thrives an arid desert

that pitied doubt

and surrendered the life

it once knew

of luxuriant foliage dense with “I will”

evergreen vines embroidery

alongside purity streams

more a message than a memory

of how seeds power intent

with nothing more

than a love for light

and replication of liberty craved for

under conditions inhospitable and idyllic

most foul and most fair

yet grew anyway

absent complaint

encircled by a vision

more immense than even it knew

that stares down realities

and does not flinch

does not falter

certainly don’t fail

because intention

encompasses the finite soil

of every beginning

and we must needs go there

and decide whether or not

it will be swampland or savannah

temperate or tropical

for no panel discussion

debate or election process

is to be had

only a simple matter

of what you want to plant

and how you gonna show up

every day to tend garden

By Chimi Dávila on Unsplash

I truly appreciate that you took the time to read my poem. Kindest of thanks!

Your support helps to fuel my passion for writing. You are welcome to heart/comment/subscribe for free/tip/give shout-outs/share on social media with author credit, and/or ko-fi me if you’d like because it truly warms my heart.

inspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Real Poetic4 days ago

    You have a way with words that is hypnotic, comforting, and satisfying all at once.

  • Oh yes it always matters so much about the goal and the consistency you return to it every single day. I loved this!

  • This was extremely power, my sistahhhh!! Also, was this line supposed to be the way it is? "and we must needs go there". Loved your poem so much!

  • Hope Martin4 days ago

    I LOVE THIS SO MUCH! Nature is POWER. Nature is LIFE. And no matter how harsh the condition, life goes ON. It must. There is no other option other than to acclimate, adapt and then thrive. And we as humans must make the choice to follow natures call, and either try until we die, or simply wilt repeatedly. Tending the garden nurtures perseverance, discipline, and reward and pride when you accomplish it/ I love my garden. This year I decided to wilt instead of be there for it. But I will rejuvenate it during the fall and come spring, I will remember the reverence that I made that garden with. Thank you for this poem so much. I needed this - not just for my gardens sake but for my spirits and my determination.

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    What a stunning poem!..... It reminds me that our actions and mindset shape the world around us, ....encouraging us to tend to our "garden" with care and determination..... fantastic words....I loved reading your poem!

The Dani WriterWritten by The Dani Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.