Poets logo

For George

Feelings from watching the video of his death

By Dana StewartPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
For George
Photo by Robert Lukeman on Unsplash

Later this month will mark two years since the killing of George Floyd. Murder on livestream is an unbearable burden, an irrevocable memory to the end of a man's life. This poem was written after I watched the video.

This ain’t no dream,

Nightmare for a black man

I can’t breathe.

They say we all right

Don’t matter now

I can’t breathe.

One way street

Two fists of hate,

I can’t breathe.

Man says relax

I know I can’t

I can’t breathe.

Face first concrete

Twist of fury

I can’t breathe.

I’m invisible

Until I’m not

I can’t breathe.

I can’t breathe.

I can’t breathe.

I...can’t...

We can’t... breathe.

heartbreak
13

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Phew. This was truly disturbing to re-live, but you wrote it so well, Dana, and it should never be forgotten. The end was incredibly powerful.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! This brought the haunting image right back. And rightfully so. This senseless act should never be forgotten. I'm glad Paul shared this. Thank you.

  • Powerful 😳

  • George Floyd & the "Black Lives Matter" movement are the reason I'm no longer welcome preaching at three congregations in the area. (Okay, it's not their fault specifically, it's that I had the audacity to say on Sunday morning from the pulpit that Black lives really do matter, not only but also.) In fairness to the congregations, most of the people were very appreciative of my remarks & horrified by the reaction of a very few. But in rural congregations, most can't afford to offend even a few, especially if they wield a lot of money. This was incredibly powerful, Dana. Thanks for sharing it with us. You have left me breathless--in honor of George & so many others.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is so very heartbreaking, I love and hate how raw it is, if that makes sense. Also meant to comment on this before including it in my piece. I'm acting like a novice this week clearly lol! Anyway, beautifully done!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'd missed this one. Very rightly disturbing, Dana. Well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Profound & powerful! Well done!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    😞

  • ❤️💯💥Loudly Written📝😉❗

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wow. That's powerful.

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I can't believe I haven't read this one before. Absolutely took my breath away ❤️ This line "I'm invisible, Until I'm not" - Wow. Great job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.