Poets logo

Flying

by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Flying
Photo by Fonsi Fernández on Unsplash

Flying –

Flying down the road, bike tires squealing,

Hair whipping behind.

Don’t let it be true.

Ditching the bike in the front yard.

Flying through the door.

It can’t be true.

Flying into the arms of my weeping dad.

“Your mother is gone,” he croaks.

We stand, holding each other in shared grief,

Bodies shaking with uncontrollable sobs.

*

My mind is flying over my last words to her.

Was it “Later, Mom,”

“I can’t wait to move out of here,”

Or “I hate you?”

All lies I have spoken.

How much time has flown by since I last told her

“I love you?”

I can’t think. I can’t breathe.

*

On my bike again,

Flying faster,

Flying farther.

If only I could escape the shame.

The trestle bridge, my sanctuary.

Beautiful vista.

By Frank Eiffert on Unsplash

Flying off it would be an easy way out,

Onto the hard ground, far below.

Flying into oblivion.

Not now.

Dad needs me.

Instead, I'll fly home.

If you or a loved one are experiencing suicidal thoughts, please seek help. You mean more to those around you than you know. Whatever you are going through, people are ready to listen if you’re willing to take that first step.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255

heartbreak

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julie LacksonenWritten by Julie Lacksonen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.