Poets logo

Fingerfood for thoughts

A poem of a mundane thing

By Jussi LuukkonenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up Place in Ode to Ordinary Challenge
1
Fingerfood for thoughts
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

My words would never

see the eyes of you

if not this mundane thing I use

every day and even nights

when the gentle whisper of the muse

sets my fingers

stroke the thought

that in my heart still lingers

waiting for me to set them free

and reaching readers and not just me

I hardly ever thank these keys

that open locks of my thoughts that often freeze

They let me see my writing faults

but also open richer vaults

and sing out loud my sentiments like these

with the combination of the keys.

It is often hammered hard and then ignored

this wonder of my Mac's keyboard.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jussi Luukkonen

I'm a writer and a speakership coach passionate about curious exploration of life.

You are welcome to subscribe to my newsletter, FreshWrite: https://freshwrite.beehiiv.com/subscribe

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Thank you for thanking the keys in such a beautiful way. I don't know where I would be without them, or the nine little soldiers that march across them. Congratulations on your win.

  • Lynn Fenske9 months ago

    Interesting choice and writing. "I hardly ever thank these keys" describes us all. Your poem has me pausing to really think about what I'll type next . . .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.