Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Do I See Myself?

Or, Do My Eyes Deceive Me?

By Carol TownendPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
4
Do I See Myself?
Photo by Paige Cody on Unsplash

Do I need that lipstick?

Do my hips honestly look that wide?

Are my legs in shape?

Should I run and hide?

This top makes me look too big,

These jeans make my tummy bulge,

I can't wear that crop top;

Maybe I'm too fat,

Do I see myself?

Or, do my eyes deceive what I truly see?

It can't be that bad,

If my friends see the real me,

Still;

Here I am,

Looking at my reflection in the mirror;

Please my pretty mirror,

Can you honestly tell me,

Whose reflection I truly see,

Do I see myself?

Or, do my eyes deceive me?

sad poetrysocial commentaryMental Healthheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Gosh this was so relatable! Loved your poem!

  • A wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.