Poets logo

Finding Myself

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
Finding Myself
Photo by Youcef Chenzer on Unsplash

I am finding myself again in the pavement under my feet and 7-Eleven coffees after work,

library nights and wearing out sneakers on two-mile walks in the cold,

old habits find their way back quickly like life was on pause, hibernating for years while I burrowed into you, burying parts of my identity to make space for us

invisible compromises dig themselves out from graves six feet deep

and I take inventory again

of who I am and what I want and where I'm going,

of all the things I used to know and all the things I learned,

of who I am without restraints I couldn't see until the shackles came off in your absence

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Great poem, thank you for sharing.

  • This was extremely powerful! Loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.