Poets logo

Feels Like Home

The authenticity of Mother Nature

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The day starts with the lightening of grey skies,

Foggy mist shrouding the dawning landscape,

The very air we breathe is wet, cold, blustery,

As the sun is hidden behind Mother Nature’s cape.

⛈️

As the morning stirs, the clouds begin to darken,

The birds have hightailed it to their favourite tree,

Their songs have gone silent as they hold their breath,

Waiting for the forecast, will it blow over or become beastly?

⛈️

The ants begin to scamper for higher ground,

New nests to be built frantically,

Undercover a new necessity as the wind picks up,

And the barometer drops organically.

⛈️

The leaves on the trees begin to stir,

As they built their memento within their frantic dance,

They shiver in sheer anticipation,

Knowing their thirst will be quenched, there’s a good chance.

⛈️

Lightening flashes off in the distance,

Followed seconds later by a gigantic throbbing clap of thunder,

The dark clouds look ominous from my window,

The rain forecast is pending and will drench and plunder.

⛈️

A loud crash rattles my windows,

Pitter patter begins to drum upon my roof,

The world is highlighted as if from a huge camera flash,

And I’m thankful I’m under cover and waterproof.

⛈️

The rain heightens as it veils the landscape from my view,

Thunder explodes above in loud crashes,

Hailstones are thrown violently upon the earth,

As the lightening strikes impede unending flashes.

⛈️

Storms have always felt like home to me,

Finally the chaos outside is the same as the chaos inside,

It the only time I get to shine with my authenticity,

And during the turbulence I no longer feel the need to hide.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    I've long had a similar relationship with storms. Something about them makes me forget my inner turmoil.

  • Finally the chaos outside is the same as the chaos inside. Omgggg that line was my favourite! Fantastic poem my friend!

  • If you were on the news as the weather ☁️ woman That would be intriguingly Great💙💥😁-Nice piece Friend❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.