Poets logo

Not Looking for Company

Seeking those I’ll breathe fire for

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 1 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I have no need for busyness,

Or a wide circle of people who I barely know,

I’m not looking for company,

Or companionship attributing shallow.

🙋‍♀️

That’s all for people who hate being alone,

Who feel the need to fill their time,

I’m looking for those with that natural connection,

Heart string to heart string so divine.

🙋‍♀️

I do miss the passion of two individual souls,

That form a craving for each other and their connection,

Two halves wishing to join in unity,

Stirred by each other’s welcoming affection.

🙋‍♀️

I won’t settle for ‘company’,

Not just for company’s sake,

I don’t find it fulfilling or indeed all that special,

In fact, it usually comes apart as a colossal mistake.

🙋‍♀️

I’ll wait for that connection that shocks one awake,

Feasting my eyes upon the perfection of their heart,

Those that’ll cause me to want to breathe fire for,

A blessing, a fulfilment, a love from the start.

🙋‍♀️

These connections instil family without the blood,

They are my ‘people’ cast from the same stone,

I’ll meet them knowing I’ve always accepted who they are,

They wander and live in my heart’s special zone.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

social commentary
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Definitely agree!!! Loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • I'm with Dharrsheena on this, I resonate with what you have written deeply. I'm no good at entertaining company & find it difficult to survive very long. I hunger for connection, for something that means something.

  • I'm exactly the same! I'd rather be alone than have company just for the sake of it. Awesome poem!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    True, we definitely have to stay from toxic people, it best to stay away from that company. Hugs send your way 🤗💕

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    gorgeous work Colleen! I love your stance on "having company." :)

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Beautiful. And who needs fake people, anyway. Right?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.