Poets logo

Extraterrestrial Appetite

*****

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
4
Adobe Stock Image

I'm so happy you decided to interact,

I thought you were just a dream.

You're hungry, you say? Well, let's be on our way!

We'll start by grabbing ice cream (because...dessert first)!

*****

I know the best spot, the best on the planet–

they serve my fave, black raspberry chip!

You can get strawberry swirl or coconut brownie,

martian-mallow *wink wink* (alien rolls eyes), and peppermint.

*****

Still hungry? Alright, how 'bout some breakfast?

We'll go back to my place for fried eggs and toast.

Now pancakes and waffles, granola and fruit,

some coffee, and honey with oats!

*****

You can't get enough? You want to eat more?

Are you sure you're not from the U.S. instead of outer space?

My kitchen's a mess– let's go out for a bite

to the all-you-can-eat buffet.

*****

I hear their food is delish, the best for the price!

It was recently rated five stars (I elbow alien...he sighs).

You can eat all you want 'till you're green in the face!

Let's take my bike; you can ride handlebars.

*****

Baked chicken and okra, macaroni and cheese,

country-fried steak with taters and gravy.

You're looking quite sick, are you sure you want more?

Alright… here's some salad; they call it Israeli.

*****

Not satisfied? You're a hungry space dude!

You're tasting something with spice?

How about Mexican food? It's my absolute favorite!

You'll fill up on beans and rice.

*****

We'll try the street tacos with chicken and beef,

pork enchiladas, and cheese quesadillas.

You’ll love pozoles, burritos, empanadas, tamales–

and how ‘bout a platter of fajitas?

*****

What? You're not quite full? Do you want something else?

Italian is another excellent genre!

I'm sure you're astronomical appetite (alien rolls eyes again)

will be satisfied after a plate of lasagna!

*****

You can try the picatta, pene, and gnocchi–

primo piatto, focaccia, and fried arancini.

I think you’ll enjoy a pizza margherita,

and a big bowl of pesto linguine!

*****

You have to be stuffed; you've turned putrid green!

Oh, you could eat a bit more?

Alright then, off to a new spot! We'll go out for barbeque,

to that joint where they throw nuts on the floor.

*****

Let's order grilled chicken with baked beans and rice–

steak with sautéed mushrooms and cheese.

How about dinner rolls, a massive fried onion,

sliders, and bacon green beans!

*****

Sweets? Are you sure? Okaaaayyyy... bring out the menu!

My extraterrestrial friend needs a tasty dessert–

Granny's Apple Pie will rock your planet (alien stares at me, unamused)!

Doesn't your tummy hurt?

*****

(insert alien accent here)

"It all goes to my brain and makes it quite large,

that's why my head is so round.

I'm super dizzy from overeating,

I may not get my ship off the ground."

*****

Let's go for a walk, it will help you digest

then you can get back home, stat.

I know a good park, I'll cycle you there.

We'll walk those calories off your dome cap!

*****

Ok, here we are! Aww, the alien is snoozing.

I'll pull over and let him snore.

Oh HI! You're awake! What's that you say?

You're hungry and want to eat more???

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

I thought I'd write something wonderful about nature, love, kindness, or peace... but all that would come out was this! haha!

I do LOVE food, so I'd definitely introduce an alien to my favorites (buffet not included on that list). I would probably cook for the chap, but that didn't work for the piece. Also, I am not sure if aliens have a big appetite, or if they have alien accents, or if the food is stored in their noggins... no disrespect to the extraterrestrials (Don't abduct me! Or maybe, do! Just let me bring my family...and fajitas).

*****

If you are in love with food as much as I am, you can check out this piece I wrote for the Short and Sweet challenge:

humorfact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    This is really funny um and exasperating (but that’s part of its charm!). How on earth have people missed this gem!.. Also “I elbow alien...he sighs” cracked me up! 😆 Fun and hilarious poem Kristen. 😊👏👏

  • Omgggg, please can I follow along as you guys go food hunting? Your poem made me hungry, lol!

  • Now, Kristen, if you start taking all the Dad jokes from us, what will remain of men's domain? Of course, if they came with hostile intent, what better way to demonstrate we're not worth it? A whole lot of fun, though I must admit it was a bit tough to read for a recently diagnosed diabetic restricted to around 1500 calories per day.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Kristen - Amazing Recipes - and always 'amazing' Original StoryTelling. As remembered from a very old Twilight Zone Episode: Alien Recipes were focused at the "Delish" 'Humans' as the main ingredient. *Bop over to our 'Humor' category sometime. You would fit in with 'Grace' and my Sheltie 'Dude' would love your wit. j-bud

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.