Poets logo

(I’m just an) April Fool

Song Lyrics for a Show Tune

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
(I’m just an) April Fool
Photo by Darius on Unsplash

V1

I’m just an April Fool

‘Cause I’ve been a fool for you,

I thought I’d found a love so rare,

but then you left without a care.

V2

They say that April showers

bring May flowers, but my dear,

Tears are running down my face and

love's bloom faded without a trace.

Bridge/Chorus

When March came in like a lamb

I thought I'd found love,

but March went out like a lion

and now that April's come,

the rains keep falling from above.

V3

In dreams, I wake with you each morning,

Yet you left me without warning,

Birdsong replaced by the mourning dove,

I miss your sweet song so much.

V4

June will bring her summer splendor

but I'll save my valentine and not surrender

a hope that you'll return again

Or that my broken heart will mend.

Repeat Bridge/Chorus

When March came in like a lamb

I thought I'd found love

but March went out like a lion,

and now that April's come

the rains keep falling from above.

humorSong Lyricslove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Very nice!

Natalie WilkinsonWritten by Natalie Wilkinson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.