Poets logo

Expire like a can of SPAM

Amusings about concerns

By Salomé SaffiriPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
3
This marvelous image was created by me and for me in AI. In my true fashion to take death with a light heart.

I'm suddenly so tired.

Just moments prior

I lived, I hustled.

Today has given me a reason

To think that I might perish -

Expire like a can of spam.

How suddenly I feel relieved.

Relieved from worrying about her,

Relieved from need to hustle.

Relieved from guessing

When death may come.

By knowing when - I can control it.

Is this why elders

Are peaceful in their heart about it.

Oh well..

Request FeedbackhumorFree VerseFor FunElegy
3

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Very relatable! I get tired so much more often these days! And the episodes of hustle are dwindling in their vigor! Great work, Salomé!

  • John Cox30 days ago

    It's easy to forget that life is fragile. It has an expiration date - like Spam! I'm old enough now to see and feel the point of the poem. Hustling really gets old, especially when you're old. Very thoughtful and thought-provoking poetry, Salome!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.