Poets logo

I ate a magic sandwich for a snack

A poem of gratitude for my Mum

By Salomé SaffiriPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
10

-How hungry are you?

-Hungry as a LION!

-What will the lion eat? Would ask my Mum

To be so hungry - must be terrifying...

- I'll eat a Zebra, please,

That tastes like bubble gum!

-How hungry are you?

-Hungry as a giant!

- A GIANT!? That is so bizarre!

-And as a very, VERY hungry giant,

I'll eat a very VERY shiny star!

-How hungry are you?

-Hungry as a snail!

-Now that's a question!

How do snails snack?

-I'll eat a tiiiiiny crumb

Because the snail

Has tiiiiiny mouth

And only needs a peck.

-How hungry are you?

-Hungry as a couch!

- Dear god!

Mum would sit down and stare in shock.

I'll gobble up the cat with cushioned mouth

Some pocket change and possibly a sock!

-I made a sandwich. It's a magic sandwich...

Mum looked around, then secretively smiled:

-I made a sandwich. It's a magic sandwich-

A magic sandwich for my magic child.

-How did you know!? I'm magically hungry!

I'll eat the sandwich, mum, because you see,

My favorite sandwich - is so full of magic

Because it's made ESPECIALLY for me!

With love for my Mom, who has ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS encouraged the imagination and the sense of wonder in me.

Sonnetsurreal poetryhumorGratitudeFor FunFamilychildrens poetry
10

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor14 days ago

    I love how this is framed from a child’s mind, and the patient understanding of a mother Salomé. I also like how vivid the different sandwiches are! The imaginations of children really are something🤗

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Christy Munson27 days ago

    Love the whimsy and playful nature of this piece. Magic indeed! Congratulations on your placement in the challenge! Richly deserved.

  • Lamar Wiggins27 days ago

    Amazing poem! I loved everything about it! Congrats, Salome.

  • Omgggg, that picture of the magical sandwich is soooo tempting! Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Fantastic! So full of childlike wonder and whimsy!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is a wonderful, delightful, magical sandwich of a poem. Not a word out of place. I happily grinned the whole way through! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.