Poets logo

We used to play a game, this silly game

We ate the dreams for dinner

By Salomé SaffiriPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5

We used to play a game, this silly game..

You asked me dreamily: "What are we eating?"

Clutching my stomach I would say a name

Of food so out of reach in moments fleeting.

"That's good!" You said. "That's very, very good!

Now, close your eyes and tell me - can you smell it?"

And I would draw a blank because the food

Was as imaginary as the flavor palette.

You cheered me up: "One day.." You said "One day..

We'll taste taste it all in its abundant glory.

You will remember how we used to play,

And eat this food without a thought of worry".

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreakFor FunFamily
5

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This made me remember when I was in college. My hostel was in the middle of nowhere with no access to a variety of food. Sometimes, I'd crave a food so badly, I'll imagine eating that food while eating something else lol. Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Beautiful, Salomé! Captures the power of imagination, and a hopefulness that won’t be squelched

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is such a lovely and upbeat poem! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.