Poets logo

Eternal Summer

a sonnet

By Ella ValentinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Eternal Summer
Photo by Camille Minouflet on Unsplash

When I think of you I always think of bright mornings

Have I ever even seen you in winter?

I sit alone at home miles away and to see you I have to close my eyes .

And there you are - under the baking Californian sun, coming out of the sea dripping, skipping, like a child on her birthday, on the hottest summer day

You talked so much, a flood of words but I heard nothing –

You no longer cry and think you are weak and I don’t love you.

We drank champagne, making silly promises, walking hundreds of miles together, diving, swimming, holding on to ideas of a happy future.

My blue eyes and your blue eyes looking at different sea creatures together all full of life, unbothered about what the future holds.

I always measure time by days I’ve spent away from you;

May I never have to count again;

May our eyes stay level to the skyline and never miss a sunset.

love poems

About the Creator

Ella Valentine

A poet and screenwriter based between NYC, LA and London. I'd love to connect with fellow creatives - feel free to reach out to me!

Twitter: @_EllaValentine

Instagram: ella.vn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ella ValentineWritten by Ella Valentine

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.