Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

“JUNE 25, 2024”

“STILL THE SAME MOTTO AS 2015”

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 3 days ago 2 min read
"Peace Train' Cat Stevens

LOOKING THROUGH MY BACK PAGES IS THE THEME

NO SCHEME

JUST SEEMS THE THING TO DO.

Here it is 2015. Christmas eve. Happy Holidays to everyone and Merry Christmas and all that jazz. Have a prosperous New Year. May we be in the mood for peace and love instead of hate. May we learn to love each other as human beings. May we learn to not always be at war.

Wish you peace and love for 2016 or at least put a dent in the hate.

Vicki Trusselli

I was looking through my back pages today. This is a little ditty in December 2015. I was 65 living on the beach.

Within six months I stepped off the train to kiss the ground in LA.

Time is on my mind today

As I look out across the way

To this day June 2024

I hear there’s another door.

I no longer want to do everything at once.

I have slowed down,

As the years roll by as I count

The numbers, calculate around

The least age today

Then I would be almost 75.

Still alive,

So, a question for my brain

Being born September 18, 1949.

That means that I am 75 because the calculations are the highest number.

Just being a clown

As I recover from my fall of a week ago.

So,

This is not AI

Cause it’s me

Contemplating

Around

The table

Of roses and baby's breath

PHOTO BY LAWANA

And let us learn more

To know what we do for the next door.

It’s all in a days work

Pick up your pen

To write on the long yellow sheets of paper,

To fold the paper into a paper plane,

To blow into the wind across the oceans, the mountains, and skyscrapers

To fly the rainbow,

To yell equality,

As I yell democracy,

Women’s rights,

CIVIL RIGHTS,

LGBTQ RIGHTS,

THE VOTING RIGHTS

For all we must fight

Again.

This is the year

Of elections

I choose Democracy & freedom for all.

Just in my head,

Hear what I said.

I thought about my kitty, puppy and birdie.

Even they live for freedom

So here we all sit looking out at the sky

Asking why

How did we get here?

The far right has been working for decades since the 1970s.

No longer a rhyme,

But this is now reason in time,

To be free,

To laugh,

To cry,

To write,

To just be.

A little note

To share

My week of news

And to keep up to date.

Right now, my brain feels all creative and then my brain feels like I must take my head out of the sand to promote truth in Journalism.

PEACE OUT!

Stream of ConsciousnessProseFree Verse

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Hannah Moore2 days ago

    Truth in journalism. Its all truth, just through various distorting lenses. Some are WAAAAAY thicker than others.

  • This was both so profound and thought provoking!

  • Truth in journalism is so very much needed... But even more important we need truth in political campaigns. Sadly though our US Constitution gives people the right to lie. We have freedom of speech which not only includes truth but also lies. US politics is so messed up.

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    It's a fascinating journey of memories...

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.