Poets logo

Embracing the Feminine

I Am Venus

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
9
Embracing the Feminine
Photo by SIMON LEE on Unsplash

Smiling down upon the Earth,

Filled with foolish, sounds of mirth.

Little humans down below,

Do not see what they could not know.

I am Venus, Aphrodite bright,

The beauty of all with sight.

Only my charms and little smirks,

Grant me any counted worth.

And yet a goddess is what I be!

Beauty, power, filling me.

Great Kubaba and deathly Inanna,

Predate me in this earthly saga.

Wikimedia Commons, Hispalois - Own work, Public Domain

Ares may rage and destroy the living,

Because of any, slight misgiving.

Zeus may violate every maid,

And defile the beds on which they laid.

And yet I, a female, filled with desire,

Must quench my burning, vibrant fire.

If I cry, scream, or rage,

It's my female side that is disdained.

Yet these self-same things from the man,

Is held in high esteem and hail.

Wikimedia Commons, Oke - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Get bigger, better, stronger, men cry.

And yet the female, she must die.

Withering slowly as they melt away

Under the burning male-sun, yea!

I shall not stop to be verbose,

And let my words and thoughts be spoke.

I will not melt beneath their gaze,

Or let their praise be my dismay.

By Victoria Strukovskaya on Unsplash

*********************************************************************

I just wanted to pop onto Vocal and create a quick verse about femininity. I do not have anything against "tom-boys," in fact, I kind of am a tom-boy. But, what I don't like is the media's portrayal of women. Things that set the female archetype apart from male archetype is often portrayed as worse, problematic, and just not as good as those things we typically associate with the male archetype.

I want to celebrate both archetypes, and everything in-between!

Lots of love! Sorry I've not been on here for a while. I hope to be back soon!

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist7 days ago

    Thank you for sharing those thoughts!😊💕

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Well said 🤗

  • This was so deep and thought provoking! And I totally agree with you! Let's celebrate both archetypes and everything in between!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Hell yeah! Well said. 👏

  • Mark Gagnon7 months ago

    I don’t normally comment on poetry because it really isn’t my thing, however I think you made your point with this post!👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.