Poets logo

Dying

I have NO IDEA why this post sat completed in my drafts while the deadline for the Distractions challenge came and went... I think I was (possibly ironically) too distracted by being ill and that's how I missed it. Anyway, I have a question: why does getting a terrible cold set your creativity on fire? (PS. I am all better now.)

By L.C. SchรคferPublished 9 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
20
Dying
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dying! I'm dying.

Ill. I'm ill. I'm huddled under a blanket, writing more than I have in weeks.

Sniffling. Sneezing. Stuffed up. Snorting snot into a tissue. Shuddering. Sinuses sizzling. Squinting through streaming eyes.

Tap tap tap typing away. Twists of tissue tucked into my nostrils.

Reading back what I wrote. Reeling with every cough.

All my neurons fizzing, joints aching.

Congested. Coughing. Cursing my nose, clawing at it. Creative. Clacking the keys furiously before the ideas slip away.

Tea, hot and black, with honey and lemon.

Is the cold a distraction from writing, or is writing a distraction from the lurgy?

Oh! to tear out my sinuses, root and stem

Nose red raw, stories bleeding out of me, between naps.

+++++++

Thank you for reading!

As always, I appreciate feedback and do my best to reciprocate reads ๐Ÿ˜

If you enjoyed this and you're bananas enough to be hankering for another poem, try this one. Or, if you prefer something that rhymes (I don't blame you) this one. My usual wheelhouse is fiction though - here is my second favourite story I've submitted to Vocal ๐Ÿ˜

humor
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schรคfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    There is something incredibly frustrating about blocked sinuses and a runny nose! I'm glad you are feeling better!

  • Heyyyy, I'm so happy you're doing better! Cursing my nose, that was so relatable! Loved your acrostic!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Good u are better now! Iโ€™ve always got old things in drafts just sitting there doing their thing! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Lol. That's great. I'm glad you're feeling better. Oh, and tearing out your nose, root and stem might hurt. I do not recommend.

  • I'm glad you're ok.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I hope you sprayed that keyboard. lol Seriously, I'm glad you're recovering. Welcome back!

  • Test9 months ago

    So pleased you're all better now L C. I seem to get most creative with poetry when I'm feeling strong emotions. However, those same emotions stop me from writing fiction altogether. How weird is that? Bravo to your (albeit cold-induced) creativity! ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    So glad youโ€™re back in writing shape, LC! Bummer this wasnโ€™t submitted for the distraction challenge - these visceral descriptions are awesome! Not even going to retype my favorite line, about your sinuses because it freaks me out, but in a cool body-horror way ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    So much snot. I wondered where you'd been. I love the image of tissue twisted up nostrils. We've all been there. Hope you're all good.

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Spot on description of having a bad cold! I canโ€™t say that having one gets me to write, though. Interesting super power. ๐Ÿ’– Welcome back! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Glad to see (and read) you back! Could feel this one! Being ill sucks. Get better! And if you already did, get even more better than better!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    A glorious return! Sorry to hear that you've been unwell :( This poem was awesome! Especially the "nose raw" line, that's always what I remember from being sick lol. When it gets painful to blow my nose

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Welcome back! So good to see you writing again. Sorry you've been ill. Hope you're recovering/recovered now. This...was awesome

  • Rene Peters9 months ago

    I love this! I have some type of sickness now (not sure what) so I completely relate.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.