Poets logo

Down the Rabbit Hole

old habits

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Down the Rabbit Hole
Photo by Meghan Hessler on Unsplash

Do you see the irony yet?

Your need for hyper-independence moved you right back home, 400 miles away from me and all the help you didn't want,

and still, I am bailing you out.

Don't tell me why.

Don't text back.

Keep me in the dark, but at the end of the day, we end up right back here again and again.

Without a word, we fall back into old habits

down the rabbit hole into a world where I fix your problems and you hate me for it

only this time, I don't say I love you

I play my part and bite my tongue

so you can go on pretending you're okay on your own

sad poetrylove poems
8

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    A sorrowful feeling of Love. Well done!

  • Very difficult , sad these things happen

  • Even though I know in my heart of hearts that I'm not.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is so very sad!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    That is so sad.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Ugh. This is intense, tough emotions which many of us face or mask depending on the relationship. Old loves, young adult kids, friends with addictions and more. I relate all to well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.