Poets logo

Discontent or Love

Which is it?

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Discontent or Love
Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

Is this what everyone was talking about?

The kind (of love) that suffocates you

The kind (of love) that makes you cry out

The kind (of love) that makes you beg for more

.

Is this what it’s supposed to be like?

Yearning for more from them

Yearning for the person you love

Yearning for their words of comfort

.

Is this enough for me?

Waiting to be with them

Waiting to feel their touch

Waiting to hear from them

.

.

Is this love or discontent?

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Versefact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like the constant repetition here, like thoughts drumming away in the mind of the speaker. It feels doubtful but craving at the same time, which is a contradiction that maybe only love can answer! Nice Donna😊

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I think new love is insecure, and it's insecurity that makes us feel this way. As love matures (like a fine wine, or a good cheese) it burns away those insecurities, impurities, all that discontent ❤

  • I love the form you used with this. The repeating really drove home the points.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Discontent or love... damn, Donna. You really know how to drive a thoughtful icepick straight through my temple into my brain and make me think. I've definitely been in this position before, reading both top to bottom and the inverse, I relate to this poem more than I'm fully comfortable with. Wonderfully done, Donna! I simply adore this piece, now if you'll excuse me I need to have a moderately sized existential crisis XD

  • Do I need to have a word with Alex? 🤨🤨🤨 But then again, this can just be a poem that has nothing to do with him, lol. I just love being confrontational 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Is this for the Inverse challenge? I saw Cathy's comment so I read it in reverse and it was so brilliant! I freaking loved it!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Very clever! And very relatable. Great writing Donna.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    It's a tautology!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This us wonderful, and works spectacularly in both directions. Well done.

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Both, and so much more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.