Poets logo

Dinner and Laughter

A Poem on First Date

By solitudescribePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Dinner and Laughter
Photo by Wiktor Karkocha on Unsplash

First date, oh what a thrill,

Butterflies in my stomach, a chill down my spine.

I dress up in my finest clothes,

Hoping to make a lasting impression, I suppose.

I arrive at the restaurant, heart beating fast,

I see her sitting there, she's a vision from the past.

I try to play it cool, but my nerves are on edge,

I fumble with my menu, feeling like a pledge.

We make small talk, I try to be witty,

But my jokes fall flat, I feel like a kitty.

She tells me about her hobbies, I nod and smile,

But inside I'm thinking, "this date is going to be vile"

The food arrives, I try to be elegant,

But I spill sauce on my shirt, I'm so damn hesitant.

She laughs it off, I feel a bit better,

But then I burp, and I think "this is the end of the chapter"

We talk some more, and to my surprise,

I start to enjoy her company, before my eyes.

She's funny, smart, and quite charming,

I think to myself "this date is alarming"

We talk about our hopes and dreams,

And I realize, they're not as different as it seems.

We both want to travel, and see the world,

I think to myself "this girl is my kind of girl"

The night comes to an end, we say our goodbyes,

I'm not sure if I'll see her again, the thought makes me sighs.

I feel a little sad, but also excited, why?

I ask for her number, and she gives it to me,

I can't believe it, this girl is the key.

I say goodbye, and walk away,

I can't wait to see her again, what more can I say?

But before I go, I turn around,

And take a deep breath, I'm gonna make my move sound.

I look her in the eye, and with a grin,

I ask her "Will you be my Valentine? I'll bring you a tin of gin"

She laughs and says "Sure, why not?"

I can't believe it, this is what I've got!

I walk away with a spring in my step,

Thinking to myself "this date was a success, a great prep"

The end !!!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

solitudescribe

"Hey there! I'm an engineer with a love for writing. I write stories that make you laugh, think, and feel all at once. Join me on a journey of words, wit and wisdom, and let's see where it takes us !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.