Poets logo

Winds of Home

A Poppy's Prompt Poem

By David MuñozPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Winds of Home
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

I remember the winds of home most of all, the constant breeze blowing in from the Gulf.

They'd arise with the dawn, swirling and eddying throughout the day, forming dust devil vortices of the powder fine sand atop the loamy soil.

Wind and sand combined to create an airborne abrasive, a concoction that eroded wood, flaked off paint, faded color into nothingness.

Reds to pinks, blacks to grays, whites to the formlessness of mottled wood grain.

Metal to rust. Dreams to faded memories, lost to the wind.

I finally got an envelope with my ticket out, and away I went, before the next storm could descend,

only to learn you never outrun the winds of home.

Free Verse

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • D.K. Shepard28 days ago

    This is splendidly done! The last two stanzas were a brilliant close!

  • Hi David… I’m just back to say that I enjoyed your poem so much that I included it in my latest Angie’s Artefacts: https://vocal.media/writers/angie-s-artifacts-iv😃

  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    I loved the atmosphere of this. A harshness and a willingness to escape but also the draw to return.

  • This has such a swirly, breezy feel to it… I can almost feel it. ‘They'd arise with the dawn, swirling and eddying throughout the day, forming dust devil vortices of the powder fine sand atop the loamy soil.’

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I love this! The Gulf Coast wind is both warm and inviting and equally as erosive.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    This is so well written. I love this part: “Metal to rust. Dreams to faded memories, lost to the wind.” And of course, that powerful ending was marvellous.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Well done.

David MuñozWritten by David Muñoz

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.